Dad’s spaghetti sauce in Recipes

  • May 13, 2016, 8:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I tossed this idea around in my head for a week or so. I just couldn’t decide if I wanted to share this recipe or not. I’m the only one who knows it by heart in the family, the one that took the time to measure out a “palm full” of spices.

You can cook up some meat balls or add sweet Italian sausage while it’s simmering… you don’t have to cook the sausage beforehand. Just make sure they’re cooked through before serving. I have a meatball recipe if you guys want me to post it. They need to be baked before adding to the sauce.

Anyhoo enough ramble. Here is the sauce recipe

A good pour of olive oil
2 large cans crushed tomatoes
2 medium cans tomato sauce
2 small cans of tomato paste
About a tablespoon and a quarter of garlic powder
About a tablespoon and a quarter of oregano
About a teaspoon of fennel seed. If you can grind it up it’s better 

Saute the onion in the olive oil until it is just turning translucent. Add the rest of the ingredients.
Simmer for an hour, stirring it up every once in a while.
This makes enough for a couple of meals. It freezes really well, and it’s great for canning.


Timid May 14, 2016

Will have to try this, and yes I would love your meatball recipe.

Gilraent Timid ⋅ May 15, 2016

I'll be posting it right away :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.