Mother's Day. in Adventures of New baby and family

  • May 9, 2016, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Personally I hate mother’s day. It’s been the biggest disappointment to me since becoming a mother. Its usually magnified because my birthday hovers around it just looming there for the 2nd biggest disappointment.

This year I was happy and okay with it. Works for me.

The first year I got to celebrate mother’s day all I wanted was a break from the baby. I was tired and needed some one........my husband ....to step up and help with the baby or the housework or both for that matter and he didn’t. it was very frustrating. My first Andrew was a PITA as an infant. Didn’t sleep well needed to be on me to sleep etc…by month 3 my nerves were shot. I was a nervous nelly and probably should have been on something. A year or 2 later he was sick all the time and I was stuck dealing with everything and my life was HELL. So the following Mother’s Day where the same as the first. BTW this is usually the time of year I get pregnant so I don’t know till later (not mother’s day) to know what’s going on also every 7 years

I met my SO and this time of year is tough on him. His mother passed away on what is my birthday and so it goes without saying it was around mother’s day she passed away and so he’s unpleasant to be around. There have been times I did everything including mow the lawn that day too. Meaning it was my birthday and instead of doing what I want to do I’m running around town getting gifts for my mother, My IL’s and so forth than doing all the usual housework and that was both my birthday and Mother’s day. My mother also doesn’t wish me a happy mother’s day usually either but does my birthday. Sigh..... I love my parents. I’m lucky to still have my mother but its just hard when the kids are small to do everything and feel like you are special and not a piece of meat. Its just another day to them and they don’t care. You what the mother’s to be happy and as usual forget about yourself and do like every other day. Tears in your eyes, don’t I count? Don’t I get to relax for a moment? Am I not a mother? And the more you think about it the more tired and depressed you get. Its not like my SO goes to to the store to get me anything or takes the kids to get something for me. Its whatever they make at school if they did at all. That plus my birthday makes it twice as depressing as again trying to make them happy means I don’t get to choose something to do for my birthday either.

I like it when its not close like this but then next year it will be back to back again.

This year with my little guy, I’m happy. Little guy doesn’t stress me out. I could look at him and snuggle him 24/7. I’m tired but I don’t care. I love this little guy. I didn’t know that I wanted him and wasn’t looking forward to it and now he’s here and I love him so much! When he ‘talks’ he melts my heart.


Last updated June 08, 2016


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.