ghostly flirts in 2016

  • April 28, 2016, 7:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

8:51pm

Life is starting to balance itself out. I’m still trying to figure out how to manage lots of days off with responsibilities, but I guess that just means I can go into the office more often. Or take care of stuff at home. It doesn’t feel the same though. There’s something about being in the office that makes me feel so productive. We’ll see how I get it all to work out. There are plenty of months left to go. [Can you believe it’s only been a little over a week!?! I feel like it’s been forever already since it ended…and at the same time I feel like it’s going by so fast that I won’t have the time to truly enjoy every moment.]

Things that happened today: I wore a really great outfit. One of the ones I get the most compliments on. Mostly because, I’ll admit, the Flirt called yesterday and left a message about a letter he got. I’ve been keeping an eye on the answering machine when we don’t go in so I caught it in the afternoon. I sorta figured he’d show up today and I can’t help myself. =)

It didn’t really work out the way I thought it would, but turned out ok in the end. Mom called him back not long after we got in and he didn’t answer so she left a message. By the middle of the afternoon he still hadn’t called back. I had this feeling that he might just show up at the office.
After dealing with some stuff with JR for a while [so frustrating that project!] I decided to run to the post office/bank before they closed. I definitely had a feeling that he was going to show up while I was gone. To the point where I wanted to wait to go but I couldn’t risk them closing. Gotta take care of those responsibilities I guess. And I would have done them a lot earlier had I not gotten stuck with JR’s stuff. But oh well. I kept thinking that maybe I’d show back up and he’d be sitting in there.

So I go and do all the things. It was pretty quick since no one was in line in front of me at either of the locations. I got back to the office and didn’t hear anything about anyone having called. Then Mom says something about, “check out the letter” and I instantly knew that he’d been there! He must have shown up only minutes after I left. I totally predicted that!
[And the day before he left the message I had literally had thoughts about how it had been several weeks since we’d heard from him. Wondering if he’d get in touch soon. The crazy universe keeps amazing me at every turn!]

I was so bummed out that I’d missed him. Like how depressing is it that he would show up during the 15 minutes I left the office? Plus, what a waste of an outfit? ha!

Turns out that we needed to put some paperwork together for the letter he brought and I took it upon myself to quickly get it all done. I tried to get info out of mom about what they’d talked about, but didn’t get much. First she said he just stopped by, then maybe he’d sat down for a while, then they’d actually looked some stuff up together. Whatever. I couldn’t straight up ask if I’d been mentioned or anything!

I convinced her to call him back to see if he could come get it done. I was so not wanting to waste all my effort. haha! I made some excuses on why it would be advantageous for him to come in and we could send stuff out without waiting. So she called but he said he’d left town already and wasn’t sure he could make it back before we closed. Oh well. Ok. At least we tried.

The rest of the afternoon was spent busying myself with random tasks. I probably could have spent more time actually working and less time catching up on entries, but oh well. It’ll all get done eventually. And somewhere near the end of the day I remembered the window posters needed to be changed, so that was quite the project.

[Sidenote: An old friend from high school stopped by during this time for her “annual visit”, as she calls it. It’s always nice to see her. I felt like she had more to say so I told her to stop by more than once a year. Honestly, I should reconnect with her. It would be nice to have a friend in town.]

Mom and I were messing around about who needed to take the garbage out. Actually, I think we were talking about picking up some outdoor signs that neither one of us had done yet. She ends up shoving the paperwork at me to take outside because she “had stuff to do” and I grabbed all the old posters and went outside. As I was exiting the door I saw the Flirt walking away from his truck [an older silverado, thank God ;)]. I made some funny remarks to mom as I held the door, pretending not to have noticed him walking my way.

He called out my name across the parking lot. Asked how I was and I responded in kind. I was trying to look all cool, but I was carrying a bunch of trash so yeah. Not so cool. lol. At least my outfit was rocking though =P

On the way back, I wasn’t sure where they were standing. You can’t see inside the windows when the sun is hitting, but I kind of caught sight of a shadow near the front desk. I tried not to stare at the window, busied myself looking at Richard sitting in the chairs outside, although he never noticed me. haha. Plus it’s that time of year when the wind is insane and of course my hair was flying wildly all around. I guess if he was glancing out the window he could probably understand why I couldn’t control it. hah.

They were in fact standing up front when I walked in and tried to brush my hair back from my face. She was collecting paperwork off my desk and made a comment about how I got it done so quickly because I wanted him to get his money. That would mean that he would finally throw that party for us and buy us tequila, which she joked was the only thing I cared about.

Of course she did.

See, I’d talked a big game before he got there. About making jokes when he called about how he only wanted to flirt with me, like the joke he’d made. But she knows me too well. And she stepped in because she knew that I would suddenly rediscover my shyness when another human being walked in to the room. Especially one with those eyes! swoon
[Turns out that maybe he doesn’t even have colored eyes? He was standing in the sunshine and I’m almost sure that they are a light brown color. Which would sorta make them average, but damn do they stand out some how!]

He caught on pretty quick. Laughed and what not. Then looked me in the eyes and made a comment about how he didn’t have to wait that long before he brought in the tequila. Oh really now? I’m down. ;]
Then they got busy doing actual work stuff though. Signing and whatever. I tried to stay all up in their business so that I could keep making jokes. I’m pretty good at that. heh. So I made a couple of jokes about various things. He kept glancing over at me and smiling. And I noticed how skinny his legs are. geez. Obviously I had nothing better going on. =P

After they were done, he got up and walked over to the front desk. Said something about when we wanted him to bring the tequila. I said any time was good. He just needed to let us know and we’d show up. He laughed and said ok and that he’d send us a message about it, or something.

I don’t know. The guy should just ask me out for a drink if he’s interested. Right?

Speaking of guys and drinks. Remember the ghost? Well he still has not responded to any of my voicemails and/or email. I realize it’s only just been like a week, but seriously? Who doesn’t check their phone in that amount of time?? It still goes straight to voicemail but I haven’t left another one. I think two is enough. I don’t want to sound pushy.

Honestly, I’d be worried if he had not expressly said that he would be on vacation for two weeks. I’m still thinking he’s got to be out in the middle of nowhere, but I can’t comprehend not having reception at all during that time. And/or checking messages and calling back. He’s got a pretty important job. What if there’s an emergency?!

If he doesn’t call back by early next week I think I’m definitely going to start digging further. Ok, ok. Fine. I’ll admit that I did a little digging today. My mother suggested it! I swear! She said I should look it up online and see if he was real because I’ve honestly been questioning his existence. So I poked around and didn’t find anything super concrete [like no pictures or anything] but there were a couple of news articles that matched his name/occupation/location. That should be enough to keep me from fretting too much between now and the end of the week. Don’t even ask me what’ll happen if I cannot get a hold of him by next week though. =\

This is so long already. My bad. I’m going now.

rose.
10:10pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.