4/22 in --

  • April 22, 2016, 1:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If/when I am ever in another long-term relationship, I refuse to be in charge of regulating another adult’s emotions.

It seems this responsibility is assigned to people when they enter a relationship, according to our societal standards of one, but it seems unhealthy.

There’s a difference between taking responsibility for treating someone poorly, and being assigned the task of regulating someone’s emotions. The first is a personal responsibility to not be an asshole – to the best of our abilities, of course. No one can ever not be an asshole 100% of the time. The latter means that when someone feels a certain way, I know it is not my responsibility to be an emotional band-aid.

For example, if I feel angry, it is not my partner’s responsibility to get me back to emotional equilibrium. I am in charge of that emotion, and I am responsible for dealing with it accordingly. Of course, sometimes talking it out with someone helps – but that’s a technique that we use to regulate our own emotions. If my partner expected me to make them feel better, then that would be unhealthy. No one should have to do that. No one should make someone else do that.

This is a skill that needs to be honed. After all, humans are irrational, and we act on emotions all the time, rather than working through them. Fuck, I know I do. We’re sort of good at it – most of us don’t go around stabbing the first person who annoys us that day. We can certainly do this for ourselves.


Fawkes Gal April 22, 2016

I think this is a great way to think, and something that everyone should do.

*Tagonist April 22, 2016

There's pretty much no way for someone to expect you to regulate their emotions without it heading into codependency and potentially emotionally abusive behavior. You can empathize with someone and want them to feel better without taking responsibility, if that makes sense. Getting to that point was so important for my mental health.

Small Town Girl April 23, 2016

We just had a work meeting based on this very concept! I agree!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.