another last day in 2016

  • April 19, 2016, 2:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:13pm

I survived! Ahh the relief I am feeling at this moment.

[Actually I have some very important paperwork to take care of tomorrow]

But it is a nice feeling. I basically just did an entire year’s worth of work and can now spend the next 8 months doing whatever I feel.
Sleep in? Sure. Yard work all day? Yeah! Cocktails after noon? Why yes, I think I will!

This was an interesting end to the season.

Crazy stuff: we walked out of the office and I was staring up at the sky, as per usual, when I see a giant bird fly through the air and land on the giant commercial sign. I pointed it out to Mom and it turned out to be an owl! I’ve literally worn my owl ring every single day this season. And we haven’t seen an owl around here in a long while. Like a couple of years maybe.

That’s insane to me. What a sign from the universe! I wear the ring all year, the owl just magically happens to show up on the very last day as we leave the office late at night. And it stood on the sign for a bit, flew away towards another sign, circled back twice and then disappeared into the darkness.

I’ll forever remember that moment. It was such a perfect end to this day and this season. I can’t help but believe in signs at a moment like that.

In other news: this guy walked into my office today and man the stories I want to tell. ;)

It was so weird. Like I’d gone to the bank/post office and on the way back I saw this guy sitting outside the coffee shop. I gave him a second glance and then later I caught site of him again as he walked away. He had this shirt on that reminded me of the republican elephant and I probably [most likely =] made a joke about redneck republicans in my head. Only to see the same guy walk into my office a few minutes later.

I guess he was trying to do some paperwork on his own and got stuck. He came in for some advice and we went back and forth for like 5 minutes before he just decided to have us work on them. I tried to pass him off to Mom, saying she’d be free in like 10 minutes but he asked if I could do them and insisted it would be easy. I think he probably felt at ease with me since he’d basically given me all his information already and I’d kinda convinced him to just get the whole thing over with.

There was something there too. Like the way he was talking to me or whatever. And he had these gorgeous kind of eyes. I don’t know. That’s always a selling point for me. hah. So I ended up helping him out and it took us like an hour and a half. Way longer than expected. But there were a few jokes and some teasing. Actually, I’d walked away to take care of a phone call and as I came back I heard him mumble something. I thought he was on the phone though so I didn’t pay attention. When I sat down I asked if he’d said something and he said he was only teasing me. Except I missed the whole thing. Of course! …ugh…

When we finally finished everything he was standing up front chit-chatting. He started talking about needing a drink and whatever. I made some jokes about it too. At some point Mom got involved [he wanted to know if we were related haha] and he said something like, “can she (meaning me) come in late tomorrow?” And we explained that we didn’t open until 11. You know my brain was over-analyzing and running at full speed though. Because I was thinking, “gosh, is he about to offer to buy me a drink after work? Does he want to keep me out late? Is he going to make a move?” It was honestly at that point. I got the vibe, or whatever.

He’d been fishing for information. Like asking what year I graduated from high school. haha. I wanted to make a joke about him trying to figure out my age, but I was concentrating and missed the moment. Damnit. It totally did sound like he was prepping to ask me to grab a drink though! I’m not sure what caused him to stop, but I guess it’s all for a reason. You know, since he didn’t show back up tonight after 8 when he knew we’d be finishing up.

Oh well. It was interesting to be in a situation like that though. Maybe we were flirting, but not really? He didn’t make me feel nervous or anything. It was just easy going. And I guess that’s good. He’s not even from around here though. Or he is. But he doesn’t live here anymore. And he said he’s always in the area around this time.

He’s older than I am though. And he’s not technically divorced from his wife, so that’s an issue. She’s only a couple years older than I am though. I kind of want to know his whole story. Like if he’d come back, I would have gone to grab a drink. I’m curious and I feel at ease enough to not freak out about the whole interaction. Because it is what it is. It could go either way.

He was cute though. ;)

And he made a bunch of jokes about how I was too scared to do his paperwork. Which is true. But it worked out ok.
Except I needed to get a hold of him later and he’d disappeared. His phone goes straight to voice mail and after an unreturned message, I shot him an e-mail. Made a joke about not being able to get in touch with him and memorizing his phone number. [That had been a joke with him earlier because I’d had to type it so many times that he said I’d have it memorized] So I guess I’ll have to try again tomorrow if he doesn’t respond.

Maybe that’s the universe’s way of bringing us back together? Ha! Yeah right. Life doesn’t work that way.

Anyway. We’ll see how it goes. It made for a very interesting last day.

I should get to bed now, but I’m having trouble winding down…

rose.
12:01am


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.