One Advantage of Ageing in Scottish Meanderings

  • April 11, 2016, 12:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No-one wanted Mam’s telly from the flat and as I only have a very small one which was a spare Nikki used to have in her bedroom, I decided to take it. It’s not a huge one but is a good bit bigger than mine and when my sister visited recently she took it down with her but forgot to take the remote control with it. I couldn’t seem to get anywhere without it so we decided we’d just wait until I was either up there or someone from Inverness was down visiting and I’ve been making do with my iPad in the meantime. I’ve found loads of great programmes which I’d either missed on the TV or didn’t know about in the first place and at one point was seriously considering not bothering with the telly at all because I know you don’t have to pay the TV licence as long as you don’t watch stuff in ‘real time’ so for instance watching anything on BBC iplayer, 4oD, Demand 5 etc. is fine. However the telly can be handy for DVDs and also for when the kids are round and I need a break from all the strenuous activity!

But one of the things I was doing was watching a lot more films. I found some brilliant old black and white film noirs which kept me entertained for a while then started to watch more up to date ones, going by lists on the Internet Movie Database and on YouTube. Then I remembered I’d made my own list of films I’d watched several years ago, really just to keep track and so that I could watch some again. Trouble was, I had no indicator on them as to whether a film was half-decent or rubbish so a couple of years ago I began to list a one word comment beside them saying what the film was like. That worked well but as they were in alphabetical order, I had no idea what genre the film was if I didn’t remember it from the title. Which tended to be the case in 90% of the list! And of course I didn’t want to watch films I’d only seen 5-10 years ago because I thought they would be too familiar.

But I forgot I was getting ancient and the old memory is not what it was ......

So I’ve been enjoying many old favourites recently and have not found the fact I’ve already watched them a disadvantage at all - in some cases it’s actually a good thing. For instance, if you watch a film like The Sixth Sense, it holds up well to a second viewing so that you can watch it again with the knowledge of the twist at the end and see how cleverly it was all done. Similarly with Shutter Island, Jacob’s Ladder, Angel Heart and The Conversation - films like that are almost better second time round so that you can see them with the vantage point of knowing the real truth and can then pay more attention to the detail.

The only thing is I need to stop watching the horror ones last thing at night - the other night when trying to sleep after watching Klute, I was convinced there was someone coming up the stairs all set to murder me in my bed!


I love it when Lily plays with stuff that doesn’t come in a box from a shop costing a ridiculous amount of money. For a while she was into Peppa Pig and one episode called ‘Mysteries’ had Peppa and George becoming detectives using a magnifying glass to find out where something was which Daddy Pig had hidden in the house. They suss out teddy is what’s missing and Daddy Pig has left a trail of cake crumbs to where he’s hiding so, using the magnifying glass, they use it and the crumbs to lead to teddy.

Lily thought this was brilliant so the following day we got some change, a little money box I’d got for £1 somewhere and a teddy I’d won in a raffle. I hid teddy upstairs then left coins on each stair plus a trail to wherever teddy was hiding and, using the magnifying glass, she would examine each coin, pick it up and put it in the money box then find teddy.

That must be at least a year ago and she still loves to play that game endlessly!

And then I got a rocking horse out of a charity shop in town for about £10 one day and my niece gave this ladybug rocker below to Nikki when she was having a clearout but Nikki, having nowhere to store it, dumped it on me. They’ve both sat in my sitting room ever since and have been very well used.

At Christmas, having gone into present overload and tantrum mode, I was trying to cheer Lily up by dressing up with tinsel. She decided she was going to dress up the rocking horse and spent ages using tinsel, left over decorations and cleaning cloths to make a very pretty looking donkey!

And ever since, when she’s over she sometimes asks for the ‘decritions’ and spends hours prettying up the donkey while the ladybug looks on jealously!

She loves bubbles but I’ve never let her use the wand ones because the mixture goes everywhere and then there’s a very slidy kitchen floor just ripe for slipping on. So I bought her a bubble gun for about £3.99. She absolutely loves it and had a ‘bubble’ party’ for her dolls the other week making ‘bubble jelly’ and a bubble bath for a dolphin to swim in. Kept her going for a good hour and more.

They really don’t need loads of expensive toys a lot of the time. Although I never expected to hear myself say to my 3 year old granddaughter “Give me the gun Lily.”!! :¬)


I haven’t heard anything more about the job yet but I didn’t expect to as the manager has been away on holiday and just got back on Thursday. I pulled out of the surgery one when they phoned to arrange an interview because I just wasn’t certain I would have the stamina for it and really didn’t want to muck them around.

However I’ve been really disconcerted this week because for some reason I’ve been loads more tired than normal. I haven’t been doing a lot either and we’ve had an Easter break from the course so I haven’t even had that to blame - the only ‘extra’ thing I had to do was look after my niece’s cat, Tara. They were away for 8 days and live in Blackburn which is about 20 minutes’ drive from my house. It only involved going out once a day, feeding and changing her litter tray, letting her out occasionally and giving her lots of cuddles so not exactly onerous.

The only other thing I can think of is that I’ve picked up some sort of bug although I have no sniffles, sore throat, headache or any other sort of ache. Yesterday I went out to Nikki’s house late morning as my other niece, Marina, and her husband, Steven, were through to visit us, bringing their very cute little baby, Jessie.

I looked after the kids before they came to let Nikki tidy and hoover the house then they were there all afternoon leaving at teatime. By which time I was having a really hard time keeping my eyes open.

So much so that when I got home and had fed the cats, I instantly put on my jammies and the electric blanket and got into bed where I fell asleep minutes later. The cats landing on top of me woke me up at 8.30 (they have a variety of tricks to bring me out of a peaceful sleep - jumping on my boobs is only one) and I went downstairs, gave them a snack, shut them in, went back to bed and was out like a light again until 9 a.m. this morning! I hovered between consciousness and unconsciousness for a while, finally getting up to feed the boys then went back to bed and conked out again until 2.30 this afternoon! And to be honest I think it was only hunger which woke me up having had nothing to eat after having a scone out at Nikki’s yesterday afternoon.

That’s almost 20 hours sleep!!

Amazingly, I’ve still been sleepy all afternoon and found writing a birthday card, addressing it and running the car round to the Post Office to post it a marathon effort so goodness knows what’s going on. I’ve only had a banana and a couple of yoghurts today and don’t feel particularly hungry now so maybe it’s a bug of some kind right enough. I really really hope so because if not, I’m only left with the driving back and fore to Blackburn as the reason for the tiredness and that’s not good news for this possible job in Peterhead, a 2 hour commute.

Fingers crossed it’s just a blip of some kind.


Last updated February 05, 2018


skyelord April 11, 2016

;-) Whats a memory,she growing well isn't she :-)

Marg skyelord ⋅ April 11, 2016

:~D

Kimber April 11, 2016

Every time I have sinus problems, my very first symptom is a desire to sleep all the time. You'd think I'd have figured it out by now, but my "Oh that's it!" moment still always comes two or three days later. Anyway, I hope your tiredness is from something similarly minor.

Marg Kimber ⋅ April 12, 2016

Me too!

Kimber April 11, 2016

P.S. I've always wondered about the TV tax/license. How do they know when you're watching broadcast TV? And how much do you have to pay?

Marg Kimber ⋅ April 12, 2016

The TV licence is £145.50 (about $206.75) a year which is quite a lot if you don't want much TV but I'm not entirely sure how they can detect if you're watching. I think they can perhaps detect where there's a television in a house and maybe even how many I don't know but although they constantly assure us British public that they can easily find out if anyone's watching in 'real time' I'm not sure exactly how much of it is bluffing!

Kimber Marg ⋅ April 12, 2016

Holy cats, that's quite a fee!
I remember watching some old British show, in which the tax men were driving down all the streets of some city, waving an antenna from the roof of the van to detect illegal TVs. Never figured out if it was a joke or not, and ever since then I've wondered about the whole thing. My uncle used to broadcast a pirate (unlicensed) radio station and the feds never could find him, so you have to wonder how well policing the airwaves actually works. And now that people can watch TV shows on the internet -- not to mention using TV sets only for watching videos, like you do -- it seems kind of futile.

Marg Kimber ⋅ April 13, 2016

I think that was probably how it was done in the old days - I can remember adverts ominously warning people THEY WILL BE FOUND that showed a van driving down streets similar to that! The fact that there is so many different media available nowadays is probably why they've brought in this new thing where you don't need a licence if you're not watching in 'real time' - I can imagine there was probably a bit of a hue and cry about how expensive the licence was when some people were hardly using it - but like you I've often wondered how they know.

ODSago April 11, 2016

I like old movies, too. A lot of company for me, those movies. Love the Lilly stories and agree with the comments about simple fun for children being best. Most of all want to say I hope you aren't ill. I've been sleeping a lot but am tired from the (wonderful) long weekend with my daughter being here and our work plus her siblings visits, long drives to airport, etc. Many regards, hoping you'll be feeling better soon.

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 12, 2016

It's not so bad when there's a good 'reason' but when nothing seems to have precipitated it, it's worrying.

blackpropaganda April 12, 2016

Great entry - apart of course from the tiredness etc - hope that can get sorted.
Big cardboard boxes give the most pleasure!!!

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ April 12, 2016

Someone else said the same thing although privately and it's true - we've had lots of fun making 'houses' or 'boats' or 'buses' etc. with them😊

MageB April 12, 2016

So hope the tiredness vanishes rapidly. Wonderful play games.

Marg MageB ⋅ April 13, 2016

Me too!

NorthernSeeker April 14, 2016

I sure hope you don't have something like mono...that kind of tiredness can come from a virus. No wonder Lily loves the coins leading to the hidden teddy game...I'd love to play it! Nice that donkey gets a real makeover. That let's the cats off the hook for dress up games.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 15, 2016

Haha funnily enough - apart from being amazed at them as a baby (which Lilah is now doing as well) she takes very little interest in them - which of course is good news for the 3 of them although Willow & Bailey still hide in wardrobes and under beds as soon as Lily & Lilah appear. Snarf isn't bothered - he's made of sterner stuff :)

edna million April 22, 2016

I hope you can figure out what's up with the tiredness-- I've also heard Vitamin D helps, and it's hard to get enough through food, so hopefully that will take care of it! The little girls are adorable. I remember getting inside the floor-level kitchen cabinets when I was that age and playing in there with the pots and pans for ages.

Every time I watch a movie I haven't seen in a few years, it seems like I've forgotten most of it! There have been several that I would have SWORN I'd never seen, then there will be one little thing in it that makes me realize I did see it. I just forgot the entire thing. It is pretty handy for re-watching. It's nice you only have to pay the fee if you watch in real time. We gave up paying for cable years ago and haven't missed it at all - we stream everything. Our payment is for the actual cable or satellite service, though. We do get Netflix and Hulu which you have to pay for but is MUCH cheaper.

Marg edna million ⋅ April 26, 2016

I've resisted Netflix up to now although am tempted. There are a number of movie sites where you can stream movies free but some ask you to create a 'free' account to do so. You have to give your credit/debit card number every time though so I've refused to do it, not trusting them an inch - however with a bit of trial and error I've discovered if you persevere you can do it free without creating an account which is handy. And there's a dearth of free media coverage on YouTube as well - although of course generally never the actual film/programme you're looking for at the time!!

edna million Marg ⋅ April 29, 2016

We stream a ton of stuff on YouTube too - we've actually got a Firestick, that Kim gave us ages ago (she accidentally ordered the cheap one and the more advanced one, and gave us the little stick instead of paying shipping to return it) and you can stream YouTube, Hulu, Netflix and Amazon Video to your TV through it, plus other stuff if you have subscriptions. It is the best invention EVER. I'm surprised I didn't even mention it in my note - it's way easier than streaming though my laptop to the TV, which we did before. And the one we have (ha, just looked to see if Amazon UK has it, and yes, they do!) is the very cheapest one (35 pounds on your Amazon, if you have prime, which might be the downside).

We've lately been streaming all kinds of UK panel and comedy news shows that I had no idea were on YouTube - it's a magic place!

Marg edna million ⋅ April 29, 2016

Oh I'm such a luddite with these things - how does it work? Does it mean you can do all the stuff you do on your pc on the TV? Does it have to be near your router or something? I have heard wonderful things about them but can't understand how it all fits together!

edna million Marg ⋅ April 29, 2016

It is SO EASY - fear of it being complicated and annoying is exactly why we'd never gotten one in the past, because they've been around awhile. All you do is plug the little stick into your TV's USB port (this is of course assuming your TV is pretty modern, and has a USB port- we only got a new TV three years ago and our previous one was too ancient) and then you follow the ridiculously easy directions to set it up. Basically I think it was just using your Amazon sign-in, and then adding Hulu and Netflix and YouTube (and whatever else) using your sign-on for each one. That was actually the hardest thing since you have to use the on-screen tap-tap-tap thing to sign in with!

You can't do anything else you'd do on the computer - you can just stream things- and I don't think it has to be too close to the router, although our house is so small that our TV and router are not far apart. The stick picks up your wireless (and there is also a bit you have to plug into an outlet, although I THINK that it isn't vital and just makes the streaming smoother. I'll check more into that part- we have an outlet close to our TV also so that wasn't a big deal.). Overall, it was shockingly easy and we haven't had any problems that a reboot didn't fix. Actually, the fact that Kim got one first says the most about how easy it is - she is VERY technologically inept so if she did it easily, anyone can!

Marg edna million ⋅ April 30, 2016

Haha poor Kim! But thank you for that explanation (I left the previous comment before I saw this one) - that clarifies it a lot more for me :)

edna million Marg ⋅ April 29, 2016

You actually may be able to do a lot more with the box as opposed to the stick - the box costs more so it should offer more options, at least!

Marg edna million ⋅ April 30, 2016

Ah right - I had a quick look yesterday but I'm still pretty clueless I have to admit!

ODSago April 30, 2016

Hope all is well. Checking on you.

Marg ODSago ⋅ May 03, 2016

Aw thanks Pat - that's so kind! Yes I'm here just trying to keep my head above water :) I have a rule that I have to try and have things up to date before I do any writing (apart from a small entry every day in my private diary) so housework, washing, stuff to do with the car, coursework, course reading, shopping etc etc all has to be kept on top of first if possible then I'm ok to sit down and write an entry. I know if these things begin to slide then I'll also begin to slide and it'll all begin to seem overwhelming. Which is why I'm only just managing to write once a month - if that :¬\ But at least it's something and better than last year :¬)

ODSago Marg ⋅ May 03, 2016

I truly understand your rule. Some things here have gotten easier now that I have to maintain my life and home and finances almost alone but I do hate it when things get behind. I haven't mastered this new life yet.

Marg ODSago ⋅ May 04, 2016

You're doing fantastic from what I see :) It takes time that's for sure - I remember after my father died at only 54, my mum took a very long time to adjust being on her own and having to manage everything although her situation was slightly worse in that she had their business to run for years before she could finally find a buyer and sell it. Poor soul she missed him terribly - I really felt for her.

Deleted user August 23, 2016

I am going to have to look into those Fire sticks !

Marg Deleted user ⋅ August 24, 2016

What are the Fire sticks?

Deleted user Marg ⋅ August 24, 2016

The thing Edna Million was telling you about that makes it so you can get more channels on your TV. It connects your TV with the internet somehow . :-)

Marg Deleted user ⋅ August 25, 2016

Oh right yes I know what you mean now!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.