Saturday AM in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 9, 2016, 7:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Can’t wait to get my new mattress set. I folded a quilt and put on the bed on the side I sleep on last night and some pain this morning, but not as bad as the last couple of mornings. I’ve got very high expectations for this mattress set which may be the wrong thing to do, but until I get it and sleep on it, I’m hoping for a big improvement on my sleep.

J and I went to the furniture store yesterday morning and he liked the recliner and stayed in it while I paid for the new purchases. We arrived back home and he did some cleaning in his room but today and tomorrow there will be major furniture moving in his room. I really wish he would let me take his bed down, but he wants to keep it AND wants it in the same place it is now and I don’t think that will be able to happen. I’ve been in his room this morning (he is still asleep) trying to come up with a mental plan to accomodate the new large recliner. I believe my first step will be to remove the dresser and chest of drawers but not sure just yet.

Dude picked J up yesterday evening and they went to pick up his deer head mount. Our church is having a revival and I wanted to go since I hadn’t been able to get there Wed or Thurs. Low and behold, as I was walking from the church parking area toward the church I heard a honk. I turned to look and it was Dude and J coming back home so I got to see the completed mount. The mount looks really good and the deer rack looks great too but it is a lot smaller that the two mounts in the living room. J seemed to be pleased as punch with his “trophy” and since it was late when Dude got off yesterday and he still hadn’t been home, I had fixed a place for him to leave the mount in the guest bedroom and if he has time today, he’ll put on J’s wall in his room. Oy Vay there is a lot going on in J’s room this weekend!! Not sure when I’ll get a picture of the mount, but I will at a request from one of my fav favs. It isn’t bloody or gory and looks very regal looking straight ahead. Which makes me think about the arrangement of furniture in J’s room. Oh the stress of it all!! It will work out I’m sure and it may not be exactly like J wants, but hopefully he’ll understand.

This morning Dude will be coming down to not only maybe put the deer mount on J’s wall, but to fix some fence across from my house. We are supposed to work cattle next weekend and a tree fell on the fence across from the house, which is the pasture the cattle are turned into once they finish with the vet. I’m hoping it isn’t cold next weekend, like this morning. Freeze warning for this morning so I put all of my seedlings on the bench on the porch and covered them with a large sheet. It seemed to take forever for the seeds to finally sprout but all of the pots have at least two babies breaking the surface. I planted another hanging basket with lettuce seed so if they all produce I’ll have 3 types of lettuce. I hope the all produce!!

Cucumber seeds have sprouted too and next week I will start the green beans. My imagination sure has a great time thinking of the harvest. I hope they produce and think I’ll plant the green beans in a large tub. Maybe two large tubs. I also need to buy some radish seeds and I’ll plant seed potatoes again this year in a couple of big pots/planters/tubs.

I’ve mowed my yard twice so far, but mostly to keep the weeds and wild onion at bay. I have areas where the grass is growing, but if we don’t get more rain, we’re in for a very dry spring which isn’t good.

Need a warm up on my coffee and need to do some dishes. Dude will probably be here anytime and then this afternoon the joint birthday party for his 3 kids in town. Going to be a busy day and weekend and then MONDAY AFTERNOON the new mattresses and recliner will be delivered. I can’t wait. Even if I still don’t have a workable plan for the recliner, it will all fall into place and I’ll fall onto a new mattress set on Monday night! AND I’ll have the new sheets that were included in the purchase of the new mattresses washed, dried, and ready to make up the bed.

Take care and God Bless and have a wonderful weekend!!


~Harmonie~ April 09, 2016

Wow...you have seedlings and have mowed. We're getting snow...yet again. I am so ready for spring to get here and stay! What a difference a new mattress can make!! Hugs, M

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 09, 2016

how exciting! you are planting already! i just took 4 beans from last year's plants, put them in a wet paper towel and set them in the sun. i want to see if they are viable. sometime next week i'll set up my 4 mini greenhouses and get the egg cartons and yogurt cups and kcups in there all filled with dirt and then think about what seeds where. today i mowed. didn't have to everywhere but, in a few places the grass was growing so i cut it! felt good to be out there in the great outdoors in the sunshine and cool fresh air. gardening makes me happy. after i catch my breath and don't feel like i am having an asthma episode, i'll go back out and see if i can neaten up a few gardens and cut a number of forsythia branches to bring inside. a new mattress will feel wonderful. i changed linens on my bed and boy did i ever sleep good on it! love my waterbed with fresh clean sheets and pillowcases. planting a lot in buckets this year. too hard for me to lean and bend over to the ground. buckets and pallets are best for me. it's easier for me. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ April 09, 2016

I've about decided that everything I plant this year will be in a large flower pot or a tub. I still can't figure out what part of the yard I would till up so container gardening may be it. My plants usually don't do as well in a container but I should have enough baby plants that I'll get get a decent harvest. I'm really excited about using the hanging baskets for the lettuce. Think that will work really well and by the time the lettuce is ready to harvest I can pull it and plants flowers if I want to. Yes spring is an exciting time of the year of "new" and "fresh"!!

crystal butterfly April 09, 2016

Hope J likes his new recliner and room arrangement and that the mattress helps your back.

Bird of Paradise April 09, 2016

In 2007 we went from a Waterbed to a Pillow top bed. I was concerned because after being on a Waterbed for almost 20 years I couldn't sleep on normal beds. They made my back ache. It has been very comfy bed. And has kept me warm in the Winter. A few years ago we bought a guest bedroom set. That bed has a Gel on top. It seems pretty firm for being a Gel, but wow is it comfy! We debated about trading beds when we moved here. We didn't. I use it when I am sick or when I am going to bed very late.
Best wishes on your new bed.

middle age pearl Bird of Paradise ⋅ April 10, 2016

I tried out a Gel and now can't remember why I didn't care for it. Maybe it was too cool or maybe it was in a price range, I didn't want to hit. lo

seafarer April 10, 2016

All my beds have memory foam mattress' and they are great but they get hot, takes very little cover to sleep on them!!
I wish I had a green thumb, I'd plant a small raised bed garden, but alas, nope won't happen!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.