Perfect Days in 2016

  • March 28, 2016, 12:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

8:31pm

Happy Easter!

What a marvelous day! It’s my only day off for the week since it’s Sunday. I have a feeling that it might be my last day off for a few weeks, but I’m not going to focus on that part. It’s been such a crazy year that I really am just trying to take it one day at a time. I make it through one day, then one week, then a month has gone by and it’s over. Pretty sure I can manage that.

But yeah, Sunday! It was a perfect mix of all my favorite things to do on my day off. I slept in late. My brother thought it was a good idea to call me before 8am on my only day to sleep in, but I ignored the call. [he ended up calling mom and waking her up, jerk.] Then I spent the next little while trying to fall back asleep. I got there eventually. Woke back up sometime after 9am and decided I’d lay there until 9:30. But then my brother called again. [man, he needs some hobbies!] So I answered and we talked for about 20 minutes. But I still wasn’t ready to get up. My relaxing moments kept getting interrupted.

Next thing I knew the clock was ticking towards 10:30a. I was going to get up to make coffee and take it outside, but then mom came inside and I figured it was pretty pointless to rush. I started to get that feeling like I was wasting my day, but honestly, I didn’t care that much. I’ve been tired. That exhausted feeling hovering in my brain lately and I know a lot of it has to do with not having enough time to decompress at the end of the day. I’m not spending enough time on my own to recharge, but I’m almost there. Only a few more weeks!

So yeah, I didn’t get out of bed until almost 11. Then we did breakfast and that whole thing, which was a delicious experiment [migas and chicharrones mixed]. I didn’t even really get a chance to drink my coffee but I figured if I sat down to enjoy it, I wouldn’t actually get anything done. So I poured it in a travel cup and went to change. Took it outside with me and went straight to mowing the lawn. Then we chatted with the neighbor a bit [I might have to hint at needing a job soon..she’s got connections] and had the other neighbor walk across the street just to ask us what kind of flowers we have in the garden. Mom told him it was an ice plant [but good luck finding it. It’s the most beautiful color!] and then told him to come by sometime and take some cuttings. So sweet that lady! I’m not sure I would have even thought to be so nice. Especially considering they never really speak to us. I’ve got a lot to learn though!

After that it was pond cleaning and then weed pulling. I ended the day cooking the leftover steak that didn’t fit in the slow cooker for pot roast. I’d never cooked a steak like that. I mean, I’ve bbq-ed plenty of steak, but it’s always pretty thin and quick. Never a thick cut of meat. But I chose to cut it right as it was transitioning out of pink. Like just perfect medium well. And boy was I excited!! Perfect steak on my first try? Yes, please! =)

It was so good that even I ate it! And I’m not a steak person at all unless it’s dead and dry.

Life’s good though. Sleeping in, outdoor chores in the garden, and grilling out? That’s a pretty perfect day to me! Sure, I could have done more. But I could have done a lot less. It was the perfect mix of relaxing and working for me. Plus I jammed out to music while I watched the grill and drank beer. That’s always a good day to me!

In other news: I have been thinking a lot about this flirt thing. [The flirt will probably be his new nickname, although I’d love to use his real name! It’s a good one]

It’s just that all the possibilities are swirling through my head. I can’t help it. At all. It’s part of my personality, or something. But I have considered every scenario. Like every.single.one. The good turn outs and the bad ones. How it could work. and how there’s no way in heck that it would work. All of it.

When we got home the other night it was still buzzing through my head. We were on a roll cooking all the foods. [chili rellenos, lentils, tortillas -all in less than 2hrs] At some point I made a joke about him getting money and I said he could flirt with me all he wanted if that were the case. I think I mostly said it to feel out where Mom was at with the whole thing. I thought she would react weirdly to it considering the slap across the face comment but instead she did the whole “oooh, ahhh” kind of thing. We joked about it for a couple minutes, I called him old and she disputed it, and that was that.

Then yesterday, or maybe the day before, we were saying something about him and I mentioned he now owed me 6 bucks for the letter I mailed. I said he could buy me a six pack instead and call it even. Since she didn’t react, and I’m still trying to gauge her on the whole thing, I said that I probably shouldn’t say that or he’d assume I really was flirting with him. She said that if I mentioned it he would probably turn bright red and be super embarrassed. He’s got a way about joking, but he’s not very good when he’s being teased. haha. I told her that I’d thought about bringing it up that day, but I didn’t. That I was going to mention it, but at this point he doesn’t know whether or not I know. She said she should have brought it up in front of me. ha! Imagine my mother bringing up the comment about some guy flirting?! Oh the embarrassment! I can only guess!

I do need to stop rolling this over in my mind though. It never does me any good. [and I know a big part of it is because I’m trying to think of someone other than ck…I need new distractions]
We’ll see what happens next time though. If/when I see him again. [Oh, PS - he’s living in JR’s old place. Did I mention that? The stories I must be missing out on!]

rose.
9:52pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.