Pop off that roof in Well now

  • March 27, 2016, 10:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

An hour ago I was sitting on the sofa, unhappily concentrating on the physical discomfort which refused to let me put my mind anywhere else. The pain wasn’t a new thing, unexpectedly sudden. yes, with no particular trigger today, but it wasn’t a new alarm alerting me to something I don’t already know, a basic useless flareup of the chronic pain with which I am all too familiar.
Miserable and useless, pain like that is. It slows you down, stops you, ruins your life when it comes, and demands your complete attention for absolutely no good reason. Pain of unknown cause is an urgent alert and a helpful diagnostic tool. Ongoing useless pain is just a really bad physical design flaw.

I know the catalogue of things broken and badly healed in me.
This pain tells me nothing new and I have no need to be a martyr to it.

Five minutes ago, I was loading the dishwasher, the music loud and fast, bouncing beat and ridiculous lyrics.
- A room without a roof? Really? -
Bounce with the beat, bend and grab a clean dish, pivot with flair, pop the dish onto its proper stack in the open shelving, pirouette back, and grab another dish.
All the while, don’t forget to sing if you feel like happiness is the truth.

I cannot express how essential it is to have a doctor who understands that chronic pain is unnecessary, that there’s a difference between drug abuse and drug use, and no one should have pain for pain’s sake.

Clap along if you know what happiness means to you.


Last updated March 27, 2016


Kimber March 27, 2016

Fifteen years ago the medical establishment decided that chronic pain was a distinct condition that needed to be treated by whatever means necessary.

Now, it's considered "drug-seeking behavior."

I am pissed off most of the time.
:-)

Cobalt Kimber ⋅ March 27, 2016

Yes, exactly.
Luckily I have finally gotten myself a doctor who realizes that legitimate pain is a perfectly logical cause for drug seeking behavior, and the correct response is drug dispensing behavior.

Deleted user March 28, 2016

All as opposed to suffering in silence.

Vivienne March 29, 2016

Thankfully, my doctor understands too, or I'd never be able to move, let alone work.

Marg April 21, 2016

A decent doctor is worth their weight in gold.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.