Birth-Day in Adventures of New baby and family

Revised: 03/26/2016 11:56 a.m.

  • Jan. 28, 2016, 1 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is my third child. I’m not a stranger to the whole birthing process and or c-sections. After all this is my third with that too, c-sections that is. This whole pregnancy was bizarre and a story that could stand alone. This turned out to be the best case scenario in the worst case problem.

I love my OB/GYN doctor. I just started going to him in July when this pregnancy started. I moved to this area about 2 yrs ago now and had just a GYN. Obviously needing a OB with a positive pregnancy test I looked to the internet and called the first place that looked good. I went to that appointment and met the doctor. I didn’t like the hospital he was affiliated with as it was farther than I wanted it to be but after meeting him for the first time there was no way I would change. I felt comfortable around him and he put me at ease. It also helped that he grew up were I now live. Probably a good thing as I got to see ALOT of him as the months went on.

Its hard to know were to start the story from on Alexanders birthday. I have written the happy story of his birth before but this isn’t going to be that story. This is the Paul Harvey (man I’m dating myself) rest of the story version. The ball for this birth really started Monday Jan 25 when around 4pm the doctor called and told me that instead of February 4th that he was moving the date till this Thursday January 28th as the week before I had gone to Children’s for an MRI.(That’s another story itself.) They were looking to see if I had placenta accreta and that’s were the placenta grows into the uterus…rare, but its me.... Apparently it did show I had this and that they had to make precautions when I delivered as not to hemorrhage. I was by myself with the other 2 kids at the time as my partner, baby’s father was in the psych ward at one of the local hospitals. (yeah.... another story) so I had to arrange for care for them

I went into to see the doctor the next day and thanked him for giving me an advanced notification since I was going to see him the next day and could have easily told me then. I stated that I had to rearrange things due to his father being in the psych ward. Of course I didn’t put it that way I used the hospitals name and what they called it. He looked at me and said “you had to rearrange?! he laughed “You should see what I’ve been going through.” “I really am a pain in the ass.” I told him.
He paused, looks at me like he was going to deny it to be nice then just laughs and says “yes, yes you are”
He proceeds to tell me what they are planning on doing and why. This is not your ordinary c-section........ catheters, stents and possible hysterectomy…all mentioned. urologist, radiologist getting coordinated, another Dr from the practice. Yeah he’s been rearranging the crap out of everything. I’m nervous now.

Fast Forward to this day january 28th- Alex’s birthday
I find myself in the operating room holding area and doctor after doctor introducing himself and telling me what they are going to do to me. I have an OB nurse kind of babysitting me and she’s had 1 too many cups of coffee. She was entirely too much full of energy first thing in the morning. Dr Smith comes to me and sees me too. Ahh a familiar face in all this hupula. He jokes with me and tells me about getting this all coordinate. He asks me if my boyfriend was still in said pysch ward. I shook my head yes and he asked if it was a 28 day program. I said no. I was surprised he remembered as he didn’t react when I said it to him in the first place. Thinking about this now I think he had a lot on his mind the first time and maybe didn’t register how truly crappy that situation was.

I was finally wheeled into the first room. They did this in different phases not that they really tell you anything till they are going to do it. I was able to move onto the table myself and there was places for your feet like boots. Not stirrups like us ladies are use to. This was to place the stents in me. FULLY AWAKE....So this position was like you were giving birth but different feet things. Told me they were giving me a shot of novocaine down there to place the stents. Yeah....not a good feeling. Hurt like hell! The doctor (Dr Smith) had been sitting on the gurney when this procedure began and was bantering back and forth with the urologist. He looked at me and said this is what we do. I know, I smiled back. (been in the medical field far too long and have been in a few OR’s along the way.) I recall him kicking his feet as he had black crocs on. I’m a sick person remembering stupid stuff like that. My hands balled up into fists as the urologist did the procedure. I didn’t scream, just made awful looking faces I’m sure. Sometime during it he came over and rubbed my hand with his finger. I thought that was sweet of him. After I felt like crap and even worse I hate to admit this, but felt like I needed to take one too. I knew however that I was getting an epidural next and that would take any feeling of having to go to I don’t have to worry about it anymore as I won’t be able to for the next few days.They did that but it only blocked one side. He watched as they shaved me down there (it was mostly shaved but not being able to see it well....you know.) He looks at me do you know what they are doing to you? he asked. Yes I said. A little surprised he looked, can you feel it? yes. I could see the look of oh crap this isn’t good. They did a few more things to test if I could feel it and had to sit me up to redo the epidural. as they redid it I felt funny. I’m feeling very light headed and tired. I told them and they laid me back down. I could feel the numbness creep up my chest closer and closer to my throat. It was getting harder and harder for me to breath. I would have to force myself to breath and those muscles were numb from the epidural. Anesthesia kind of expected it and knew it was not uncommon for it to move up when a patient has to sit up. I overheard him tell the doctor. Meanwhile, me and breathing weren’t getting along. They laced an ambu bag over my mouth and I shook my head no. There was no air coming from it making it that much harder to breathe, they did put a nasal canula on me that helped. After the stent procedure I was moved to the cardiac cath lab to have catheters placed in my groins to control bleeding if needed. I remember being asked and squeezing their hand every so often as they made sure I was not unconscious and still had some feeling. Even though I know some of them were weak I didn’t I know that it would have meant I would have been on the ventilator and would have had to be intubated. Since that was going on, when they got done with the catheters the doctor told me he was just going to do the c-section. My mother was suppose to come down and see this little guy be born but with all this mess he didn’t think it would be good. Part of me thinks with me being half conscious and the problem that lied ahead it would be better. I was coming around I could see the camera that was on my catheters and the time on the wall. It was quick. They positioned the lights and one of them commented it was like being on the beach. Except I’m cold I stated. He’s breech! I see toes I heard from a female voice. Oh he’s already peeing. said another....and soon cries. Time for the placenta.......easiest one I had all day. Dr Smith said and the radiologist stated Oh MRI you have some splaining to do in an I love Lucy accent.

They showed me him for a quick moment knew he was 5lbs 8 oz and 18” long. and wisked him away but said he was fine.


Last updated June 09, 2016


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.