Tanq and Tonic ramblings - maybe a temporary post in QUOTIDIEN

  • March 19, 2016, 7:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When my husband passed away almost 2 years ago – as badly as I wanted to blame him for his death, and as much as I wanted to hate him for having ‘left us’, the rational me eventually realized it wasn’t his choice. He had a heart attack. He woke up one morning, dressed for work, and prepared to leave. I told him I loved him, rubbed his lower back because he said it hurt, then sent him on his way with a kiss and profession of love. It was reciprocal. He showed up on the job site for the safety inspection, clutched his chest, and fell to the ground, never to regain consciousness. I never expected the call. THAT call. I never thought, for an instant, that just 2 hours before, I’d touched him for the last time. Kissed him goodbye for the last time. I never thought that our ‘I love you’s would be our last shared words or shared sentiment. We didn’t wake up that morning, knowing that in less than 5 hours, I would be talking to someone about which organs I wanted to donate, and were we going to cremate. I mean - that’s about as bad as it gets. If I survived that - I can survive anything.

It’s part of why I wondered why it hurt so badly when Bill moved to Virginia to tend to his future financial security. What could be more logical than that?! After all - I’d crossed paths with the Grim Reaper - so this shouldn’t be a challenge. I’d lived the worst case scenario - so how could this hurt SO badly?! As my mother so callously pointed out 2 days later, “it’s not like he died, right

The tears have finally stopped in both cases, though the pain of either loss isn’t so far behind me that the memories don’t still carry their sting. For those who believe that I’m being childish, screw you. I reserve the right to experience my hurt. It’s not right to tell someone you want to keep their housecoat and slippers ‘for when you come visit’ - as if it was something that was desired, then allow other things to come along, and derail that possibility. Not if he truly loved me. Not if he turned his nose at the offered suggestion that what we knew was nothing more than ‘limerence’. Not if he made his own professions of commitment. If he was totally and comfortably immersed in my life, reciprocation should be natural....but that doesn’t appear to be true.

I’m going to bed now because this isn’t helping. But I thought I’d purge this lump of feelings like an owl barfs up the undigestible and see if I can’t wake up with a better perspective over what Tanqueray and Tonic will provide.

I’m glad I’m learning how to live ‘alone’. As nice as it would be to share my life, and a love that defies understanding, it would take an act of God to raise that much trust in me again to let it happen.


Last updated March 19, 2016


GypsyWynd March 19, 2016

Living alone can be a positive experience.
He had a choice, and you're entitled to feel hurt, angry, sad, and everything else. With or without Tanq and tonic..

middle age pearl March 19, 2016

Totally "normal" feelings you're feeling to include the statement "screw you" to those who want you to act and feel like THEY want you to. My husband died at 48 and the emotions and the loss have traveled so many different paths. You are dealing with a change in your entire being and it takes time. Actually forever, but most people don't want to hear that. I remember being so very pissed that after that one year mark, I still grieved. EVERYONE told me that after that first year things would get better. Uh huh. Liars!

MJ's Page middle age pearl ⋅ March 19, 2016

Second year is the worst. , I've lived and suffered a lifetime's worth of pain in those first twelve months. I've carried the weight of my loss, as well as the mother's pain of watching my daughter's descent into depression as she travelled on her path through drugs, and physical ailment. The second year is when the scaffolding of friends thins out. You're no longer standing on the ledge...but you're still hanging onto a 5th floor windows. It's when grief has finally exhausted you but you're no longer the weeping widow.

The second year is the hardest,too, because it's the year you rebuild yourself. The year when, as you approach it's end, you look back and see exactly how strong you have been...how solid you've become.

The first year, you're faking survival. I'm approaching the end of this second year, and as I look back, I realize I faked it into reality.-these few outbursts notwithstanding :)

middle age pearl MJ's Page ⋅ March 20, 2016

You are spot on. I decided to build a new home after the 2d year was over. I was in it by the end of the 3d. I was so terrified and excited at the same time. Had been "our" plan but turned into a God plan. I'm still amazed.

cricket_factor March 19, 2016

My boyfriend died Christmas Eve at home - I came home with others and found him. He kissed me and left for work. Had a great Christmas party with his coworkers. Me, his family and his former bosses and coworkers miss him so much. I can so relate to this. It's been two and a half months and it's been one of the hardest times in my life, ever. I can so relate.

MJ's Page cricket_factor ⋅ March 20, 2016

I am SO sorry for your loss! My heart hurts for you.

Deleted user March 20, 2016

I am sorry ... Of course you are entitled to feel hurt .

ODSago March 21, 2016

I don't think feelings are right or wrong...so in a different category...they come and go. They are not who I am but they exist in me and can pass through if allowed. Best to allow that. I, too, am beginning the third year of being widowed and have the perspective of the first and second years...I have a lot more insight now then I did earlier. My marriage was long and we were prepared for the loss of one or the other of us, bound to happen and we'd talked about it a lot. That helped me. At your age? I'd have crumbled I believe. You have been building a new life, parenting, in relationship. My gosh. You have grit. If you let the emotions pass through you'll find you're solid and can be counted on to do what is best for you or to take a chance and survive if it doesn't work out. My best.

WhatDreamsMayCome March 21, 2016

I'll hope for an "act of God"

NorthernSeeker March 23, 2016

Everyone here has given you such brilliant advice I don't think there is much I can say other than I hope these feelings of hurt and pain eventually pass. Maybe it is safe for you to feel all the pain when Bill moves whereas you didn't let all the pain out when your husband died. I'm not a psychologist, though.

raeven October 23, 2016

I am so sorry for the loss of your son.

ODSago October 23, 2016

Just heard about your son...oh my dear cyber friend. My heart is so moved by your losses. May you find peace.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.