The Friends I Don't Deserve. in And The Rest.

  • April 7, 2016, 11:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A thousand apologies wire shut my jaws, a mouthful of burrs with their bramble-wire claws; unspoken tokens of regret to everyone I ever met: eternally, I owe such debt, to their refusal to forget.

Sometimes I’m a shadow smoke-screen of a person, subsumed by a tomb of complete introversion, shallow-drowned in cold inertia: a cyclical catastrophe, collapsing into atrophy- the lifelessness of laxity- consumed by my capacity to lie supine in apathy, just passively disintegrating; curling inward, hibernating: slowly stoically stagnating.

A recipe for lethargy, a bitter burnt-out effigy; some days there’s nothing left of me but slow descent to entropy; resigned to capsize into drawn-out demise- ossified, preoccupied; a vanquished void behind my eyes- I listlessly drift through identikit days: a machine of routine run on baseline malaise. The peripheral fear that I’m falling apart thunders tracks through my veins on a quarter-horse heart… yet I spend my life motionless, running away, as I lazily languish in torpid decay.

Too often I’m the absent friend, in mute pursuit of my own ends; a spineless victim of myself, a hostage to my mental health- ashamed of my proclivity for living in captivity; a cage of inactivity- too shame-faced to articulate the dire desire to hibernate: to lie down and asphyxiate beneath my own repulsive weight, to cave in and capitulate; confined inside convulsive hate.

I deserve to rot in isolation, a vacuum of my own creation… yet faultless friends I didn’t earn refuse to let the bridges burn: they overlook my aberrations, all my inward inclinations- without a doubt or hesitation, no hint of hurt interrogation, not a flicker of frustration- these paragons of perfect patience offer open invitations, include me in their celebrations, initiate all conversations… a loyalty void of limitations.

A thousand times I knew perhaps, I’d let a precious friendship lapse- collapsed into the silent cracks of all my disappearing acts, as passages of time elapsed… I don’t know what can be in me they seem to see so differently- I’m only deadwood and debris, a waste of space, a nobody; an eremitic absentee: an archetypal suicidal; self-centred, indolent and idle- too ashamed to explain, and yet time and again, they waive the right to denigrate, berate or excommunicate a selfish social profligate: on day release from Notre Dame, I fall straight in to waiting arms; the safe embrace of faithful friends, whose selfless patience never ends.

Guilty and humbled, it’s so hard to show it… but I owe them my world, and I hope that they know it.

 photo 25131436-BE56-42BC-A0CB-E4BA405B7AB1_zps1ctyqezj.jpg


invisible ink April 07, 2016

I understand your friends completely. I feel the same way about you. This wonderful articulate and sensitive being who has blessed my life with her words.

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ April 07, 2016

Thank you... so kind as always :) I missed you!

Mr. Mofo April 07, 2016

I assume that is you on the far right of the pic?

Your friends look fun.

You should give them pie.

Waiting For Sunrise Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 07, 2016

Haha yeah that's me, complete with retarded-looking drunk smile :p

They are a lot of fun, and very nice people as well... I'm a luckier girl than I realise sometimes... I'll do them a favour and not make them pie though, my baking skills are not a delight anyone would wish to share in! :)

colojojo April 09, 2016

Magnificently and so beautifully written. <3

Waiting For Sunrise colojojo ⋅ April 13, 2016

Thank you so much... Somehow writing something worthy of these lovely people makes me feel a little better about all the times I haven't said it aloud lol xx

pretty.vicious. April 17, 2016

You deserve good friends. I know how that feels to be an absent one and how sometimes people don't get it or try to. They sound good enough to where you don't even need to explain, so don't. You're thankful and they love you haha It's all good :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.