Fingers Crossed and Fed Up in Life In The Now.

  • March 6, 2016, 12:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi all,

I decided to apply for a new job. I’d honestly forgotten how anxiety stricken I became during tests. I hate being put under such pressure in that regard. Honestly, give me a life or death situation and someone who needs help when it’s important I am incredibly decisive and proactive, put me in front of questions and a clearly visible ticking clock. Nope, lost it all.

I spent quite some time reworking and restructuring my CV, that got me through the first hurdle no problem, the second part of this test was all about extrapolating data from forms, now this in itself does not sound difficult, except when I did all the practice exams I failed miserably and I mean really failed.

For someone who speaks English as an everyday language and considers himself to be quite well versed in said dialect, you can imagine I found this somewhat upsetting and frustrating. The more I read the example questions and the more I answered them, the less I seemed to get right, it took me a while to realise that the English in the questions was actually incorrect in itself…words like maybe and should being overly used that should guarantee an answer of “unsure or unable to determine” but the answers wanted facts…

Sadly if you’re giving me a hypothetical situation, with hypothetical explanations. I can literally only go on what you ‘hypothetically give me’ so saying my answer is wrong is actually wrong from your part when all I can do is work within the parameters that have been pre-defined. It is fucking infuriating because this isn’t how a situation or scenario goes in real life, hence why employers end up hiring fuckwits as oppose to people who care.

I was also frustrated that the example tests gave you 3 minutes to answer 6 questions…fine…

So why did the actual test give you 6 minutes to answer 18 questions?! BY YOUR EXAMPLES LOGIC I SHOULD HAVE HAD 9 MINUTES, SERIOUSLY WTF?!
I don’t even know if I am going to get to the next stage after the personality test that we had to do after involving shapes, to be hones the entire thing was very unique in terms of a preselection process.

If I get through this stage and I really hope I do, then I think I can relax as it involves actually interacting with people, that’s what I need to be able to sell myself at least somewhat convincingly. I usually rely on my CV to get me through the door more than anything else.

This past week though, it has felt harder than most. I’m signed off work and I actually hate it, not being able to get up and do something, have no purpose as it were. I like being able to get up and going to help people, even if it was just resolving a telephone or broadband issue, it was important to them and the gratitude was undeniable at times.

The top and bottom of it is that I am fed up. I am tired of being taken advantage of, tired of being ‘used’ by people and tired of being smarter than most people in a work environment, this ‘test’ I did was so false and incorrect due to poor wording I can’t even begin to explain my frustration without wanting to ‘lose my shit’ shall we say.

takes a deep breath

Let’s see what happens I guess.


Last updated March 10, 2016


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.