exploding mind in 2016

  • March 2, 2016, 5:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

2:11pm

I am f-ing stressed out right now.

Why does it always happen that I have a huge project going on and everyone and their mother needs to come by?! I’m not cut out for this kind of thing.

Apparently our tech support team found some kind of issue with one of our computers yesterday. It was this whole ordeal. Like hours worth of poking and prodding and needing assistance from me. This guy, Shaun, is pretty much my best friend now. I’ve spoken to him more than anyone else I know.

Except now he left me in the weeds. He’s out for the next two days and I need him NOW. By the end of the day he’d put an order for a new server in and it arrived this morning. I can’t exactly set up a new server in the middle of the day though. Plus, our company requires us to use their tech support staff to complete the backup/reimage/new setup process. And no one will help me! I called Shaun’s number and the guy that answered was a dummy. He had no idea what I was talking about. I’m not even sure how he works there if he doesn’t know that I need help to setup a new server. He told me to set an appointment with their regular line, so off I went to do that.

They don’t have any appointments until Saturday. One of my computers doesn’t run any programs, the server is supposedly corrupt, and I have to wait until Saturday? Ok. That makes total sense.

I called the regular support line and ended up with dummy #2. She didn’t even speak for like the first 45 seconds after she had clearly answered the line. Then she didn’t know what I was talking about either! Come on people! It’s like one of the main components of setting up an office. You work in tech support and do not know this?!

So she put me on hold a while and then told me that there was nothing they could do. They couldn’t get anyone out sooner. I told her that I didn’t need a tech to come out. They don’t even do that for our offices! But she seemed completely lost and unable to comprehend my issues. You know, the fact that I can’t run my office properly in the middle of the season. She ended up giving me another 800 number to call with hardware techs who are available all day every day.

I am not calling that number. It doesn’t make sense. What I really want to do is find Shaun out in Detroit and tell him to get his butt to work a.s.a.p.! He wasn’t the smartest tech guy [no offense but he sounded rusty on some stuff] but at least he was helpful! I need this computer up now and I don’t know who else to call.

I did find a way to workaround the payment issues we’re having, although now I’m tempted to withhold them all until after Saturday. Except that’ll affect my clients and I can’t do that to them.

sigh

My main issue is that this day has also suddenly become extremely busy. Like phone calls and a bunch of people walking in. It’s not supposed to be this busy this time of year. And I haven’t had lunch. That’s definitely having an impact on my mood today.

I just need like a milkshake and a nice sunny spot in the park to sit and decompress.

[sidenote: I forgot I left this open, went to multi-task, and JR came in needing to do something on the computer. Thank God I sat down first to sign him into the system. I think I sneakily saved it without him noticing (but of course I forgot the title so had to do it twice haha!)]

Plus, in this crazy mess of a day: the muffin guy walked in.
[almost nick-named him ‘muffin man’ but thought it would be weird. hah]
He wanted to ask me a question but it was funny because I walked out from the back and stepped towards him as he walked in the door. We exchanged smiles and hellos and he tried to ask me a question, but he couldn’t seem to get his words together. He was seriously stumbling trying to get an actual sentence out. haha. Not sure if he was anxious/nervous or just couldn’t find the right words.

My laughing isn’t because I’m making fun of him either. Just funny the way we were standing there, staring at each other, and he’d blanked on what he wanted to say. As an aside: it’s weird to know someone that’s the same height as me, or close enough to stare directly into their eyes.

I’ve been thinking about him lately. Obviously I wrote about him in a previous entry. It’s just, I don’t know. Something stuck with me.

So I ended up at the front desk researching his issue. Thankfully I had enough brainspace to remember that I had not thanked him for the muffins. I told him that we were trying to send out thank you cards but we hadn’t gotten around to it. I thanked him and told him the muffins were delicious, and made some more excuses/jokes about being too busy to send cards to the people who had sent stuff.
He’s not like super talkative though so that part is hard to read. I think he said “you’re welcome” and laughed a little but that’s it. I was going to do some more research into this stuff, but he said not to worry about it. As long as there was nothing negative going on it would be fine.

Well ok then.

He did mention the music again though. Said something like, “still got that music going, huh.” I guess I don’t have to worry too much about sending out the e-mail. I’ll probably still send out the cards once we find a break. Letting it play itself out seems to be working just fine.

The world works out the way it’s supposed to.
[Only, I wish it would give me an f-ing break. The lady my aunt takes care of died this morning. My uncle called yesterday to say his brain tumor’s back. His wife called today and said some stuff was going on but I couldn’t understand her at all. Not sure if he’s in surgery, if they’re traveling to the hospital, or if he’s freakin dying somewhere and she doesn’t answer her phone. ugh. Seriously. I knew this was going to be a bad season. I just knew it!]

rose.
4:54pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.