Cats are expensive as fuck. in 2016

  • March 2, 2016, 1:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the week before last I noticed my cat flicking his head around and scratching but then stopping… then while he walked away from me I noticed his ear drooping so I went to investigate.

IT WAS SO FRIGGEN SWOLLEN guys… like his whole ear was a bubble. I was terrified! Of course I took to google and found out that its a hematoma and cause by either hitting it hard, or scratching it too much or shaking his head until a blood vessel bursts and fills the ear. What the freaking hell!!

Continue my googling to find out that it has to be surgically removed. Great. AND there could be an underlying issue. So off to the vet we went.

First of all, the vet is only in my town on Thursday’s so I had to book an apt and wait until Thursday. I think it was Sunday night when I found it. FUCK. Poor thing lived in so much pain until then. At least I assume so. He wasn’t complaining. Got to the vet and of course hes terrified. They checked him out and he doesn’t have mites or anything, but he must have just shook his head too hard. Fucking retard omg. He gets such dry skin in the winter that sometimes he licks his stomach RAW. Like, bald, and sometimes to the point where it bleeds. Its unreal.

Anyway, his ear is infected. And needs to have surgery. It was a rough day for him. Most cats hate the vet really but my cat made some interesting sounds that I’ve never heard come out of an animal before.

Because hes a geriatric, he also needed blood work. And updated shots. And a prescription for his infection… And then they told me to try and ice his ear… like are you freaking kidding me? He wont hold still for that. I didn’t even know how I was going to give him his friggen meds!

350$ later I leave, with an appointment to go back for a 1000$ surgery tomorrow. Awesomeness.

Sigh… its too bad we treat our animals as family members lol HOWEVER, my family members have friggen coverage lol

He should be all set by tomorrow and on the mend. I’ll update.

Kristen <3


Hotaru March 02, 2016

Poor kitty. And poor you having to pay for it. One of our dogs ate a piece of laundry basket that got stuck in her intestines. For the diagnosis ans surgery I think it ended up costing about $2500.

Hopefully surgery will go well and kitty will heal up nicely. And maybe after this the cat will start pooping gold nuggets or something.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Hotaru ⋅ March 02, 2016

It better!!! Lol and holy crap that's a huge bill. I'm praying that it stays at the quoted price lol

Frailty March 02, 2016

omg!! that sounds awful :( poor little dude.

Daisyhead Princess March 02, 2016

That just seems insanely expensive but it's also crazy to me that there's only a vet on Thursdays.... I mean I think there's easily 3 24 hour vets within a short distance from me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.