Week off in Hello.

Revised: 02/28/2016 2:01 p.m.

  • Feb. 27, 2016, 1:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had such grand plans for this week. I’ve had an entire week off work, and I feel like I’ve done nothing.
Been out for food with John a couple of times, the lovely Emmy Lou coming for a surprise visit, a driving lesson, clothes shopping, out around a lake with dad…I’ve done stuff, but it feels like I’ve done nothing!
Eleanor went away for a residential in the Lakes for a couple of nights. Even though she was only a few miles away, she may as well have been on the other side of the planet! I knew she’d be fine, but your parent brain goes into overdrive, doesn’t it? I needn’t have worried, she had a whale of a time, doing all manner of activities. She was sharing a bedroom with her friend, Evie. She said she didn’t get much sleep the first night because Evie was crying for her mum and she didn’t want to disturb the teachers. So she said Evie could get into bed with her and she cuddled her till she fell asleep. Then she climbed into Evie’s bed because she was so hot. She’s such a lovely little munchkin, so thoughtful. She did archery, walking, ghyll bashing, among other things. She was so sleepy when she got back, but she’s spent most of today vegging in front of the tv under a blanket. :)
I’ve just found out my friend Catherine is pregnant! It’s been yonks since any of my close friends have been pregnant, so I’m looking forward to knitting tiny things. Catherine is the ex girlfriend of John’s brother, but we just clicked, her and her sister, Anna, have become really good friends of mine. When Catherine split up with Howard, I remember thinking “oh God, I’m torn! I like Catherine, but she broke up with Howard....can I be friends with them both?!? The answer turned out to be yes, they’re both in new relationships now and, while Catherine occasionally asks after Howard, I try not to talk about them to each other. It’s worked ok.
I’m going to have access to a car, woo! Dad is picking up his new car tomorrow and he’s said I can use his old car, a Zafira, until I can get my own! Up until now, I can’t say I had put much thought into getting a new one, I was going to think about that nearer to my test. So now that I know I’ll have access to one as soon as I pass is going to take a weight off! Saying as soon as I pass, dad is still going to be in Spain when I have my test, so not sure how it will work with me going on his insurance etc. I might have to wait till he gets back. The first thing I am going to do is take myself into the lakes to practice driving on (fairly) quiet roads on my own, before I’m brave enough to take the kids anywhere! :)
I’ve just had a letter from my council to say I’m getting a 3 month council tax rebate, due to us being flooded. A nice £300 is going to be most welcome! :D


Last updated February 28, 2016


Bomb Shell February 29, 2016

Aw, lovely entry full of nice things.

I thought your driving test was in July? Mam and dad are coming back from Spain on 7th June.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 29, 2016

No, June 3rd.

Deleted user March 02, 2016

Eleanor is just so lovely! X

Johnny Carcinogen March 02, 2016

You heard the latest Foo Fighters rumour? Apparently they may be about to split up...

Babe In Toyland Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ March 02, 2016

According to the gutter press.

Johnny Carcinogen Babe In Toyland ⋅ March 03, 2016

Yeah, they released a statement that said something like "for a million times, we ain't breaking up, stop being gullible".

How are you? I feel like we font talk much anymire . Even though you're still in regular contact with my best frien . Which isn't totally weird at ALL.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.