The Start of a Plan in Steps to Change

  • Dec. 22, 2013, 6:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As I at least implied in my last entry, the hardest thing about me wanting to get in shape is that I have never really been in shape before. I don't know what to expect, how hard I can and can't push myself, how quickly I'll notice a difference, etc.

The second hardest part (besides, of course, the motivation - something I'll come back to), is being able to track my progress and knowing when and how to push myself.

So I'm solving this the way I solve most of life's problems, at least when it comes to not knowing enough about something - I made a spreadsheet.

Okay, it's not the typical reaction, I know, but for me, it's a rather helpful one. Most of you don't know this about me, but I make damn good spreadsheets - interactive/reactive, and I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty with a little scripting to help things out. So this provides a rich way for me to track myself.

I'm breaking this down into three-week intervals that I'm calling triads, to help. I'll probably further group these into sets of three, so that every 9 weeks I have a different focus. I can have useful goals (and tracking!), keep track of weight/measurements. I'm going to incorporate rewards into it too, those to be mostly chosen at a later time.

So yeah, that's my plan. A spreadsheet tracking, starting next week (after the holidays, and besides, "next week" is always the best time to start something).


Maybe Not Today December 22, 2013

"Every 9 weeks a different focus..."

What are the various things you're going to focus on?

(I'm a lover of all things exercise, which is why I was asking!)

AwaitingCrescendo Maybe Not Today ⋅ December 22, 2013

For the first nine weeks? Habits. The focus is to do, not as much focus on what I'm doing. Setting myself up.

The second will likely be cardio. I might do Couch to 5k or something similar. After? Well, that would put me into May, and I'm not entirely sure what I might do then. Any tips/suggestions?

SixOStrophe December 31, 2013

For May and onward, I would work into incorporating muscle building (something light - it doesn't have to be lifting weight every other day, 100 pounds at a time, but to be able to build up muscle) The logic? Muscles will burn calories/energy throughout the day when used, while the cardio will burn muscles only when the cardio is happening!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.