Nah in Hello.

  • Feb. 19, 2016, 4:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Spain is just a pipe dream. There is no way I can go away as John works evenings till 11 o’ clock. While I don’t mind Bel watching Eleanor for a couple of hours while we go for a meal in town or something, there’s no way I can leave them on their own every evening for a week. It was a nice dream while it lasted.
I’m getting a bit more adventurous with my vegan food stuffs. I don’t think I’ll ever become a vegan, or a vegetarian for that matter, but it’s fun trying out new recipes with vegetables. Today I made baba ganoush, hummus and vegan ice cream. Unbelievably, the ice cream is made from the water from the chick peas, date syrup and vanilla extract. And it tastes bloody nice, I have to say! (No, I didn’t believe it would either. But it does.)
Eleanor is turning into a proper little film buff. She’s completely obsessed with Henry Selick and Tim Burton…Not a day goes by that she doesn’t mention Tim Burton, Danny Elfman or one of Tim’s films. This evening she discovered the Wilhelm scream, so I bet you anything she’ll be looking into that tomorrow when I’m at work.
Bel has told us she has the opportunity to go to Taiwan with her school next year. Of course, we’d love for her to go, but it’s going to be expensive. She’s said something about getting sponsorship from the school by doing some fundraising or something, she’s going to find out more when she goes back to school next week. She gets to study Mandarin as a language, instead of the usual German or French. We’ll see!
The driving is still going ok. You can tell my instructor is used to teaching teenagers though. He’ll tell me something I need to improve on on my next lesson, like changing up through the gears faster or something, then when I do it he goes “oh wow, that’s miles better on last time! How come you’ve improved so much?” and I explain I actually listen and take on board what he’s saying. I still struggle to change up into second when I’m on a roundabout, I’m working on that! This week was hill starts. He took me to the steepest hill in the world, told me to pull over, then move off. Straight after I moved off, I had to go through a chicane, then hold the car at a junction. I got it after about four goes, lol! Then he told me that particular spot is on my test run. Gulp.
I’m trying to save some money to go towards a car. I really REALLY have no idea what I want/need, other than I want five doors and a big boot. I rather like the look of the Picasso, but I think it’s because I’m learning in a Citroën and I’m familiar with the layout. John has no idea and keeps telling me I needn’t even think about it till I pass my test. I beg to differ though! I think I’ll go window shopping with my dad one of these days. I only want a cheap runabout really, don’t need anything fancy. I’ve never been interested in cars before, so it’s going to be brand new territory for me! John has no clue about cars either.


puffin February 19, 2016

Dave has got a Honda jazz which he doesn't love but it has SUCH A BIG BOOT. he can get all his band gear in there no problem but it is still a littleish car.

Seacláid February 20, 2016

I have a honda jazz 1.2, it's underpowered but has loads of space in the boot. Also more reliable than a french car (I do have a thing against french cars although there is no proof and they are probably just as good as any other - they also tend to be comfier than the japanese makes).

Seacláid February 20, 2016

Also, there's some recipes out there for vegan yoghurts using cashew nuts - blend them up and they look like the go so smooth and creamy, that I would give up dairy (but I won't because there is nothing wrong with dairy and me).

Waterfire February 20, 2016

I absolutely loved my Toyota yaris. Never gave me any trouble and was stupidly cheap to run! My Ford KA, on the other hand, is an utter bag of nails!

Deleted user February 20, 2016

Eleanor just always sounds amazing X

Bomb Shell February 20, 2016

Ah the Wilhelm scream, I always point it out to Jay when I hear it in a film, he just rolls his eyes and looks bored.

WOW a school trip to Taiwan! The furthest I went was the Forest of Dean and northern France.

If you want five doors and a big boot, a Vauxhall Astra estate might be good, I've got my eye on one next. They're not pretty but I don't care; to me, a car isn't a fashion statement, it's a commodity. Vauxhalls tend to be quite reliable.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 20, 2016

I think what I like about the Picasso is that the back seats are three individual seats with proper seatbelts, rather than just one big one. There's also a 7 seater option, which would come in handy if all of us go on holiday together.

Miso Honey February 22, 2016

Vegan Ice Cream? weird.

Awesome that Eleanor is getting so into film. Good taste, too!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.