Day 18 Month 2 Year 2016 in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Feb. 19, 2016, 10:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maybe I can never be happy. LoL

Had an interview today. There was no direct offer but the interviewer said the person I’d be replacing started at… GOOD money (she gave me a specific number which I am withholding).
She has only interviewed me and one other person. AND the County only has 2 attorneys.... Her and her Assistant… and she’s looking to retire in a few years… so the job has some quality job security as, were I to receive the offer, I would likely be a County Attorney (as opposed to Assistant County Attorney) within 5 to 10 years. Money and Experience and Job Security… you’d think I’d be over the moon at the chance, right?

I am not. It is one of those Good Things Bad Fit issues. The interviewer was very apparent about her feelings… honestly, neither candidate for the job (me or the other person) are qualified enough for her. She needs to fill the position immediately and has “absolutely zero time to train” someone. So… already… it would be bad for her, the county, and the new hire because she wants the person to start by March 1st and doesn’t plan on doing any form of training.

Then there is the area itself. A move to this location would still keep Wife and I several hours away from all of our friends and family; so there is no benefit in that regard. Plus… there is no industry or commercial sector for miles and miles. The closest “big city” of any sort is an hour’s drive… and that’s serious. Not because “I need me some big city” but because… for any entertainment or grocery shopping or anything… you have to go an hour. Not kidding. There were no true grocery stores in the town and the only movie theater had only one screen and showed only one movie only once per day. And the movie that is there this month? ROAD CHIP. The Chipmunks movie. No Deadpool, no Revenant, no Witch, no movie that would be in an adult (or even Teen) demographic. Hell, the city’s population is smaller than my High School. Wife came from a small town… and the town we’d be moving to if we get an offer is 1/6th the size of THAT town!

But… money and experience. Which I really honestly can’t ignore. It is just one of those things where… the situation sounds absolutely dreadful. I mean… expecting someone to (1) quit their job; (2) pack up their home; (3) find a place to live/move in to a new home; (4) and start a new job without training… all in the course of one week? C’mon… surely, I’m not the only one that thinks that is (1) pretty shitty; and (2) kind of a big red flag as to the nature of the job.


Pickled Duck Lips February 19, 2016

Say "hi" to Andy and Barney as well as Opie for me lol

Always Laughing February 23, 2016

I'd be worried

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.