Ugh what a week and it's only Wednesday... in Life In The Now.

  • Feb. 18, 2016, 5:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey all,

So on Friday I’ve got some friends coming round to my place, 5 in fact so it will be a little crowded in my flat.

Me who very rarely hosts things has decided to have a Game of Thrones board game night lol, this week has been a nightmare though in terms of preparation for it, in the most pitiful of over exaggerated and wanting to get it perfect sense.

I am the type of host who has to think of literally everything, where my brain goes into overdrive. I know these people in and out so I know what drinks they like, what their quirks are and I make sure to address the vast majority of those…those and mostly my own, it’s my place so I know exactly how things have to work, for example:

Funny story when I did this about a year ago, one of my friends has a ‘trait’ to come in and run to the toilet every time. I knew he’d be the last to arrive as well so I attached a note to an air freshener saying “For Simon, for when he arrives within 5 minutes” everyone laughed at that and found it hilarious.

Simon arrived and took a whole 2 minutes to need to run to the toilet, a further 6 minutes to pick up the air freshener with the note on and start belly laughing from the toilet and begin spraying. I prefer to be one of those controlled host that before a question is asked I can just point and the person immediately knows as it were, not a big thing, just a hosting thing so we know where we’re at.

Still though, anxiety tends to reign when it comes to such things, this week I ordered a table from Argos, not a particularly big one but I thought I’d try it, turns out this folding camping table is also the perfect board games table in terms of height and width as well but only for 3 players…so I wanted a second, sadly I bought the last one from Argos and had to order another one from a different store…nope, this would not be so easy…

Rakuten decided not to progress the order to their supplier, therefore the next day delivery I paid for is overpriced and none effective (oh believe me I know how first world problem I am right now, but when you’re caught up in it, we’ve all been there so cut me some slack) so I contacted them and they explained what had happened. I didn’t take it out on them as mistakes can happen (EVERY FUCKING TIME RAKUTEN ARE INVOLVED, SERIOUSLY IT IS LIKE THEY WERE MADE TO BE INCOMPITENT!)

So they arranged for the table to be delivered today, yay! Not so much…I got the table today and is not the same model, height and is actually broken so I can’t even use it as a stand in and send it back until I get another one, so needless to say, contacting them was fun.

So in the space of a week I’ve managed to buy 3 tables, people may start to thing I am working for the WWE or something and breaking these things on a regular basis.

I have to pick the 3rd one up tomorrow from a store 10 miles away with my friend Ants who’ll kindly give me a lift for it because he’s coming over on Friday and knows how hard I’ve been trying to make this entire night as good as it can be and as comfortable as possible understands where I am coming from. Seriously…Game of Thrones the board game can take 3 hours per game if not more…got to be comfortable and I’m trying to make it possible but the fates seem against me on this one.

Tomorrow is my last ditch effort then I sack the second table off.

Whilst truthfully that has been going on, work has gotten worse with the fact that my day for going back to my previous role looms closer. I hate having no loyalty to an employer and previously having lots of loyalty toward them makes me feel shitty but it’s not me who’s moved the goal posts.

I get businesses need to change but sometimes that change is so drastic it just messes with people’s lives way to much and for all that person has done there is no appreciation or consideration, in the end we’re all numbers in a big machine. I’m not disillusioned enough to think that the company won’t survive without me, of course it will.

However I know there are a lot of people who will lose out from a customer service perspective because of it, the company loses valuable input but they’re not interested in that but what they should be concerned with is that they lose someone who actually cared and gave a crap, about all of it.

I suppose that’s what gets to me the most. I cared and they took that away from me, so now I’m without loyalty but still care to a degree, that’s somewhat sad but when it comes to the end of my secondment, that’s the point I’ll leave my job because they have nothing else to offer me, there are no positions available for growth unless you want to be a manager and good lord I don’t want to do that.

A friend came to me today and told me about a new position at his place of work coming up shortly, it’s probably something I’m going to go for because I’ve given enough time and patience to my currently place. I know exactly how good I am there, how unique my knowledge is but I’m tired of being messed around and the new hours they are proposing are laughable to retain any form of loyalty from anyone.

By the end of this week or definitely by the end of February I’ll be done. I’m way to tired to be playing games with companies anymore, either treat the staff who care right, or fuck off.

Kind regards,

G


browneyes February 18, 2016

Yay at your game night, my nan loves game of thrones and would be tickled pink the fact you're hosting that kind of party! Reading that made me smile. Go for that new role!! Why not? It sounds good and you need a change of pace from your current job stress! Hope all is well with you! Thanks for your kind note, I always appreciate your correspondence. Hope your party is super fun! Xoxo -Dawn

Writing To Escape browneyes ⋅ February 18, 2016

It's a complex but fun game, if you can get your head around that GoT you can get your head around any board game lol.

I'm keeping my promise and checking in at least weekly for updates and the like :)

browneyes Writing To Escape ⋅ February 18, 2016

haha well I don't know if I would be smart enough to handle something so complicated, but it does sound very fun. :) i know, i am quite impressed and very delighted to see you here more often!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.