Reality check. The well-I-guess-I'd-better-write edition. in Jingle bells, batman smells while shepherds wash their socks (winter 2015/16).

  • Feb. 17, 2016, 3:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: it’s Wednesday morning, my friend has dropped off her keys so I can let her dog out later, our new tv will be installed after lunch so I’m taking advantage of the time and having a hot bath.

WEARING: 4 earrings - usually 6 but I took my dangly ones out to henna my hair a couple of days ago. 3 bracelets, 4 rings and 1 necklace; I particularly like my new tree of life necklace. I love it’s wiggly branches 😃

 photo IMAG3785_1.jpg

FITNESS UPDATE: after getting achilles tendonitis in November, I ran 6km yesterday!! I’m very proud of myself. Not long until I’m back up to 10k again 😃 feeling lazy this week, although not lethargic. The coldness outside makes it a little hard to muster up the will power to go outside! However we’ll be taking our friend’s dog out in a couple of hours and tomorrow we’re meeting up with another lovely diarist for a walk along the Thames. Although, I think it’s high time we drove over their way as they’ve come here recently!

IN THE NEWS: ‘junior’ doctors (ie anyone lower than a consultant) ought to be working 28 hours a day, 9 days a week, 59 Weeks a year because that’s normal. I have signed several petitions against this ridiculous law.

I found out yesterday that The Canary Islands have a great thing going. Refugees from the Saharan subcontinent can spend the summer living in the homes of families on the Canary islands! Where, for us, we would be enjoying the heat, these kids get respite from the heat, medical checks and some ‘normal’ life experiences. Here, in my town, we do a similar thing for children affected (and yes, the affect is still true and real) by the Chernobyl disaster. Rich was interested in the Chernobyl kids but we would need to offer them their own room which wouldn’t be easy.

READING: I’m listening to a new chick lit book while running; The Little Shop of Happily Ever After. Reading wise I have two maths books on the go! One with school level maths and one with fun games based on more advanced mathematical concepts.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: walking my friend’s dog, having the new tv fitted to the wall, bffn it’s coming over and Rich and I are going to a concert in Bristol tonight.

THINKING ABOUT: puberty. Much screaming and door slamming and “You love my sister more than me!! I can tell!!” Going on in this house; along with eye rolls, tutting, hurrumphing and ” I’m a year 5 now mummy, I’m not a baby!”

Sunny abyss, I may take your tattoo idea!

PLANNING: trying not to plan, trying to go with the flow. Working in a school makes everything so regimented and I’m trying to sidestep all of that.

Oh, but I’m planning on not going to the dentist until July, having been for two emergency appointments, for two different things, within 8 days of each other recently!

Oh yes, also planning to run on the Silverstone race track! This has been a bucket list item for a few years and it will never happen alone (which would be preferred) so I’ve entered the Silverstone 10k race this year 😃

Photos

This was what I always used to think when I read this with T!

 photo IMG-20160207-WA0000.jpg

Ah, it would appear that photo bucket isn’t updating my photos as quickly as I would like so I’ll do another photo entry soon.


thesunnyabyss February 17, 2016

puberty...the arch nemesis of cool, collected parents everywhere, lol

I feel for you,

actually when I saw your tree of life necklace, my first thought was I have a tattoo of that, lol,

hope today is a good one, enjoy the concert and the new tv!!!

Deleted user February 17, 2016

Love the necklace ! Puberty is easier for boys I think ( maybe) :-)

ElvenAssassin February 17, 2016

I'd read about the doctor issue; shameful!

The Tranquil Loon February 18, 2016

yes, I love the symbolism of the tree of life! Glad you are making strides in running again! That will be great to partake in a bucket activity!!

colojojo February 20, 2016

Love the necklace!

Oh those terrible teens :/

Ceylon Sapphire February 22, 2016

I get the whole eye rolling thing here too.... there is a reason I had a hysterectomy.... my child and I would never have survived each other if we were both hormonal!!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.