The BURLINGTON ROUTE Smoke Stack Denver 23rd Street Roundhouse in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Feb. 15, 2016, 9:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This may be an OD re-post…or maybe the old Dork, dumb old rail has lost his mind. So that being said ....

Growing up, and driving, or being driven over the old 23rd St Viaduct, you went by the CB&Q Roundhouse. Yes same old roundhouse, I worked in as a machinist in the shops, then BN, and when I was in engine service with the Santa Fe.

This I believe, was a major steam generator for the shops at the time. Supplying heat, and steam energy for various heavy manufacturing tools, to keep the shop operating and the locomotives serviced. There still was the remains of a big “Roundhouse” from Stall 14 thru 26. Some were stubbed, and some fully functional, even when I went with the Santa Fe. I would cut through the stalls to the outside sand during the cold harsh winters, getting to the helpers. The smell of steam heat, diesel fuel, oil etc, still in the memory banks.

I wish I could find a picture, sorry

The 23rd Street Viaduct is gone. It is now rebuilt and known as the Park Avenue Bridge.. LOL. LODO revamp. BURLINGTON ROUTE was prominent with the “BURLINGTON ROU” lettering from the dependent viewing of the vehicle you were driving, and its direction. That always was a thrill for me as a child going into downtown Denver.

The remaining stalls, of the old roundhouse have been demolished. A sad thing. I remember eating with the roundhouse crews, when in the shops, etc. Those days are long past. I was 19 to 20 years of age, I am at this time 28 maybe 29 now.

The BN has decided to demolish the Smokestack. A date was placed. Notices both on the BN and the Santa Fe, were issued on where and where not to park. Vehicles, for crews will be towed, at a safe location, per BN expense.

D-Day BN vs the Smokestack date I can’t remember ( LOL )

I was called for an 830 am Helper. The train I am to shove is still two hours out. I park at the appropriate area. I get the marching orders, on what to take.

The demolition crew, which is a contract crew is there. A BIG Crane with the wrecking ball is there. BN Division management, Operations, Mechanical is there. Some from St. Paul, Upper Management, like really “bigwigs” are there. City and County of Denver Officials are there.

I see Charlie Berg, the roundhouse foreman. “Charlie, just grab a a set”? “Sure Kid, take what ya want off the Outside sand track. Yer train here”? “No, but I’ll watch this for a while”.

Smokestack 1 - BN 0:

Pomp and Circumstance..LOL. The wrecking ball is ready and yields its mighty force. KONG!!! was the sound when it hit. Pieces of outside coating fall and the stack is untouched. KONG…attempt number two. KONG..okay. KONG, like the Elton John song “I’m Still Standing”. This went for an hour. Defeat :(

I tell Charlie, “Line up the turntable, 100’s power has five SD-45’s on it. I’ll throttle to eight, and jump off at 10 mph. They’ll hit the base and problem solved”. “Yeah Kid, yer right, but we might get run off”. “Yeah but in a blaze of glory”. He slaps me on the back, we laugh at the BN, City and County of Denver, and the construction company. I head for my helper assignment.

Two days later, they rig a Horse trough, to hold two men and jack hammers. They break the stack down to 50 feet from the base. The wrecking ball finished it off.

KONG!!!


Last updated February 15, 2016


MageB February 15, 2016

Wow...why didn't they blow it up?
So sorry the round house is gone tho.

Brakeshoe Bob MageB ⋅ February 15, 2016

I think they could not guarantee how it would fall. plus this was early 80's and the viaduct was still a main transportation bridge over the Platte valley into Denver. There were also other structures, the shop, and the then boiler house, radio shop and locker rooms as well

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.