I'm Fat in Navigating the Shadowlands

  • Feb. 10, 2016, 3:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So. Yeah. I’m fat. 329 pounds fat.
Yup.
There. First time that number’s ever been out there.
Ever.
I’ve been meaning to stop this trainwreck of my body for years....years!
It took a rude comment from one of my daughter’s classmates last year.
I had volunteered at my daughter’s field day. One of her classmates, this rude little boy, kept taunting her with “Your mom is fat! Your mom is fat!”
Ouch.
Later she shyly told me that some people in her class were calling me names.
I grew up with an overweight mom…and vowed I’d never do this to my kids…yet here I am.
I am actually thinking of weight loss surgery, have a consult this Thursday.
Anyone here have it?

**Check out my VLOG on youtube:


EvequeFou February 10, 2016

I didn't have surgery, but an intensive program with a dietitian, trainer, doctor, and therapist. (The therapist was ridiculous, but the others were okay.) Started around 300, 193 at my best, now about 215. (Pictures here.) I'm told a bit of a bounce is normal, but I really hate how much of it I've regained.

It's worth doing, but the problem is maintenance -- whether surgery or supervised exercise, you can get the weight off. But if you don't develop and keep new habits, which has been my problem, your body knows where to return to.

Deleted user February 10, 2016

I just wrote a similar entry about weight. I lost over 50 pounds but have gained back 25 in the last 12 months and I'm reaching or maybe have reached the point where I realize okay, this isn't cool anymore. Never had weight loss surgery, I know someone who did but she may have been a special case because she ended up developing a lot of really bad health issues as a result of it. I could afford to lose 100 pounds but personally wouldn't have the surgery, at least not the one where they staple your stomach to a smaller size.

Mehuh 2.0 February 10, 2016

I grew up with a mom who was too concerned with her weight, exercised a lot, did a lot of hair dying and make-up, and I generally grew up not feeling great about my own appearance and had a low self esteem. I am overweight - and have tried to fix it a few times. I am going to start going back to the gym, but being self conscious is a killer.

I know people who have had gastric bypass, but the thing with that is maintaining a healthy program after it, or otherwise it all is for naught. I will be rooting for you! Maybe join a small support group as well to keep up with it or have friends that are support and will root for you! Here on Prosebox could be a good place. ^.^ hoping for the best for both of us!

PS: I LOVE your family! So sweet and heart touching. <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.