community time in 2015

Revised: 01/30/2016 10:24 p.m.

  • Sept. 21, 2015, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

8:20pm

Man, I just keep getting worse and worse at this. So much to say. All the things I want to write down and commit to the kind of memory that will only exist on here [because we all know mine’s worth pennies].

We had our community expo at the base the other day. I’m surprised they invited us back for another year. ;) The amount of sponsors almost doubled this year, so that’s good for them. It was interesting. Nothing super special. No one really wants to talk about our kind of work right now, but it’s good to put our faces out there and let everyone know we’re around town.

Plus I was wearing a brand new shirt, that matched perfectly, and my hair was wild but amazing that day. So basically everything worked out the way I wanted it to. haha. And I picked up taco bell for dinner. Oh! and we both won raffle prizes. Mom got a cool metal basket with random things in it [apron, earrings, etc] and I got hairspray and a gift certificate to get my hair done. ha. Considering my mother cuts my hair, and the aforementioned wild part, I’m going to guess that that won’t be put to good use. I’ll have to find someone to give it away to.

Near the end there, there was this firefighter guy standing near us chit-chatting and what not. They were giving away the last of the prizes and he was desperately trying to win. But he was losing motivation and decided that if he won one of the volumizing shampoo things he was going to pass it off to me.

I asked Mom later if she thought he was saying that my hair needed some help, or that he thought it was already amazingly voluminous and looked professionally done. =P

We also saw the bbq client there. But he was weird, and awkward, and spent about 30 seconds with us before saying he’d be back later [he never came back] and disappearing around the corner. I saw him later standing on the opposite side of the room and also when he walked out the door. He was with some lady all that time but I have no idea who she was. Maybe that’s why he was weird though? Didn’t want to be seen messing around with us.

We always have this super sarcastic witty banter thing going. He wasn’t into it at all that day. There was no laughing at my great jokes. There were no “rude” sarcastic replies. At some point I made a joke about how he always shows up at the office when I’m not there [I was on the phone w/Mom from Texas one day when he walked in]. He replied with something along the lines of “that’s bad for me” or “just my luck.” I don’t remember exactly what it was. I just know he looked away, said it solemnly, and it was something very similar to those words. Who knows what’s up with that.

In other news: I’m still doing a lot of work with JR. I met him at the office today. I was hot, and panic-y, and on too much coffee. Which lead to a few jokes [like I was filling out an envelope to his insurance guy and I joked about how the one guy that liked my name lived all the way in NY]. He brought up again how he tried to hook me up with his friend and I said that everyone was making that seem like a bad idea.

Honestly, I wouldn’t mind meeting the guy, the opportunity just hasn’t come up. I’m never one to just flat out say no to meeting people.
HAH. I didn’t even believe that line.

But yeah. Things are going on. I’ll try to write about Texas later. I hope I can get around to it before it drifts from my brainspace. There’s still some annoying ck stuff floating around that same space. I try so hard to get rid of it, but there are too many reminders and not enough new things to fill it up. Work in progress, I guess.

rose.
9:32pm


Last updated January 30, 2016


Medisinn February 04, 2016

Doesn't seem like the best time to advertise tax services, but you gotta take what you can get. I can't imagine there are many fairs or events in January, although I'm sure things are a lot warmer in California.

Maybe that guy has social anxiety or something. Interacting with people in an open space shouldn't be different than interacting with them in a small area, but it often is.

+.:hidden-feelings:. Medisinn ⋅ February 04, 2016

Actually, where I live, it's pretty cold in the winter. Not like snow or anything, but definitely freezing temps. So all the fairs stick to the summer/autumn timeframe. It's good to be out there and have people recognize us though.
No anxiety issues that I know of. We've talked since then and I guess he was just "busy" w/his friend, or something. Plus he has no problem standing in my waiting area and giving me a hard time in front of a bunch of people.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.