Sad news in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Jan. 28, 2016, 3:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My son had to put his dog, Jack, down last night. He started having episodes where he was choking and then he started falling over. After the incidents he would be fine but the episodes were happening more and more. He took him to the vet to see what was up and found out that the nerves in his neck were getting weaker and weaker—he had noticed that his bark wasn’t the same and he had been propping his head up—the vet said that he was really having a hard time to breathe. He also had a heart murmur that had gotten worse so it was only a matter of time. The vet said it could go either way, he could give him medicine that would calm him down but then what would the quality of his life be like so my son made the decision to have him go. Jack did have a good, long life—he was 12. PrincessE cried a bit, LittleMan doesn’t quite get it but my DIL took it hard my son said. RIP Jack.

In other news, I have been home from work since Tuesday with a cold or viral infection. My whole body aches but the dr said it wasn’t the flu. Told me to take MucinexD, Advil and gave me a cough medicine. I feel a little better today but feel wiped out trying to do the simplest things. I have been living on chicken soup cuz I have no appetite. I probably could go to work Friday, but I just don’t feel like pushing it. I was scheduled for court for tomorrow, but someone else can cover. I had to cover for someone the last couple of weeks so it all works out. Next weekI have a pretty big week of court so I think it is best to just pamper myself. I think this is the first illness I have had since my masectomy and knee operations so I think my body just needs extra rest.


ConnieK January 28, 2016

Oh, my heart goes out to your family! It's just heartbreaking to say goodbye to a beloved pet. Glad you are taking care of yourself and not pushing it at work. HUGS I hope you're feeling better soon.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 28, 2016

sounds like you are pretty worn out and need the rest so your body is doing it's part in slowing you down. sorry about jack. it hurts to lose a beloved pet. take care,

~Harmonie~ January 28, 2016

so sorry about Jack. It's very hard when it comes time to make those decisions. Feel better quickly my friend. Hugs,M

Anaiss January 28, 2016

That is so sad about Jack. It breaks my heart too, to think how he had been suffering, trying to breathe. It takes an awful lot of love to make such a painful decision. My heart goes out to you all. I'm sorry you've been so sick. In my opinion it's silly to push yourself to go back to work for one day (Friday) when you could stay home and essentially give yourself 3 more days in a row to really recover rather than risking a relapse. At least that's how I would rationalize it.

🌻StillJustMe🌸 January 29, 2016

I'm so sorry for your son. And you get yourself plenty of rest.

Lacrime di Drago January 31, 2016

The loss of a furry family member is so hard. Almost 2 years later, we are still grieving the loss of rascal. It's really bad sometimes. I hope that you feel better.

Deleted user February 13, 2016

Oh, it's so hard when our pets pass away. I bet Jack is going to be missed so much. I'm sorry to learn that you've been under the weather. I'm glad you've stayed home from work so that you can rest. Chicken noodle soup is good for you when you are sick. I love chicken noodle soup any time of the day. Has to have lots of saltine crackers in the soup though. I hope by the time you read this note you are feeling better and all is well again.

Deleted user February 13, 2016

Aw, so sorry about the dog. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.