I had an epiphany about decluttering. in 30 day, de-clutter challenge.

  • Jan. 15, 2016, 3:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think we’ve been doing it wrong folks.

What most of us try to do is sort out things to throw out, but it occurred to me that instead for those that really want to go minimalist, what we should be doing is picking out the few items that we absolutely must keep, a few that we kind of want, put them to in a few boxes, and then just haul whatever is left away.


Walking Crow January 15, 2016

This is a really good idea :) Much try it!

Neogy Titwhistle January 15, 2016

Yes! It works! If you write down, day by day, for awhile, just those things you actually touch or use every day you'll be surprised how short the list is. My list starts with my coffee cup and ends with my sleeping bag and pillow. And there's not much in between.

Pickled Duck Lips Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ January 15, 2016

Believe it or not, I was thinking about you when that idea hit me. I was watching a movie about a woman hiking a 1000 mile trail, and how she struggled with her back pack the first day. It reminded me how you said that you wanted to go down to just a box or two of possessions, and I really like that idea. Thinking about it more, I came to the realization that I've been looking at things backwards. It's not about toning down what we have, but separating those few items that we really truly need, and getting rid of the rest.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.