January 13th through 15th in 2016

  • Jan. 15, 2016, 12:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The night of the 13th was suitably dull. I managed to get my exercise in, plus Eikaiwa, and guitar. So far so good on week one. It feels like it’s been longer, and I don’t know if that’s good or bad. I slept very poorly, which was really the main event of the night.
The fourteenth was slightly more eventful, but, namely or the fact that I went to Tomarino with Sam. Once a month, we’re supposed to have a BOE day. On that day, we generally end up as the assistant to the other one. The kids really liked Sam. Tomarino is bigger than my smallest school, Kukino, but it has fewer students for me to teach. I love eating lunch with the little ones, but my sixth graders are usually not great. Yesterday, however, they impressed. I was thrilled to see that. Especially the tomboyish one. I really wish they’d wear nametags or something (in kana instead of Kanji) because names are tricky for me. And it’s hard when you only see the kids a few times a month. In the case of Tomarino, once or twice. However, one of the teachers asked Sam out, he thinks. So, we’ll see if anything comes from that. Doubtful.
There’s a big banner up, marking the end of Tomarino, something that happens come March. I need to bring a camera and to take pictures. The place is going to be just a memory, soon. I don’t want to forget. On one of the banners, was the motto of Tomarino, something I hadn’t heard before. It was something like flowers, songs, reading, and something. I loved it. I thought it was an advert for a culture school in the area. Nope. Just Tomarino. Which makes more sense. It’s also so much sadder. I wish that place were going to last. Sadly, even if I did my part to repopulate the town, something that several people have suggested, there aren’t enough women to make it work, even if they were willing. Which they are not.
My ear is bothering me. It’s been minorly bothersome for a few weeks, but last night it started to really hurt. So, today, I’m going to see Kyoko at the hospital. Sadly, this is a terrible day for that as I also have tea ceremony and this is going to wreck up my schedule.
Today I had three classes, all second year, and I did Ebihara Sensei’s notebook grading as she is/was sick. Or, at least, absent. No idea. I’m doing well on my studies, and I even did some calligraphy today in addition to getting in over ten thousand steps (daily goal) before I take my walk. At Courtney’s request, I’ve signed up for Habitica, which is an app that is a lot like one that she’d discussed making years ago. I’m not quite sold on it, but, I’m giving it a go. So far, I’m doing pretty well.
I hadn’t commented on David Bowie’s death, because, while shocking, he meant more to me as an idea than as a person, and I’ve never been a massive fan, though I do like him and people do tend to assume I’m a huge fan. However, it seems that celebrity deaths are a thing. Alan Rickman dying has been a blow to Courtney, and I wish that there were anything I could do. Sadly, there isn’t. Poor Chan. I wish I could be there for you or to do anything to help.
Today promises to be rather dull, yet overly hurried. I’ve got to do first dinner as soon as I finish at the hospital, then I think I’ll try to squeeze in the walk. I’ll have to rush to tea ceremony, and then I’ll do guitar before settling down for bed. I don’t want to do the walk (entire or part) post tea ceremony as it’s quite chilly here and I’ve got to get up early for guitar. So, this seems like the best course of action. The non Caesar salads at 7-11 are growing on me. Also the fact that they’re less than half of a Caesar salad’s calorie count. And the dressing is easier to clean. I think from now on, if they have non Caesar salads, that’s what I’m getting. (Man this entry is boring).
Well, that seems to be it for now. Nothing much to report. Oh! Yesterday, I signed my ’16-’17 JET contract. Also, I do have more time on the JET Japanese course. Also, today, my sock ripped massively as I was getting ready. I didn’t realize how severe it was until I got to school and remembered that I wear sandals and my heel is hanging out for all the world to see.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.