I ENJOY THE FOODS THAT ARE BEST FOR MY BODY. I LOVE EVERY CELL OF MY BODY. in Wellness Advocate - Essential Enterprises LLC

  • Jan. 14, 2016, 7:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is one of Louise Hay’s suggested affirmations in the Health chapter of this little book on my desk. It is the appropriate affirmation today because it is the emotion and thought I wanted to express after my lunch and the YouTube videos I’ve had playing for an hour or so this afternoon.

Last night Ron listened to me reading the notes Dr. Carlson sent home with me after that appointment yesterday. The appointment was to review the reselts of the aortic CT scan with contrast to rule out the aortic aneurysm that runs in my family. Because the scan showed no problems, he spent a long apointment with me, going over ways to improve my health without exceptional concern for my circulatory system. The notes were all about MS and how to improve my overall health, including the blood pressure and cholestorol levels already in my chart that have been concerns for my other practitioner (Leah, the P.A. in his office). Ron surprised me a little later by saying he’s going to eat the way receommended for me.

Dr. Carlson, Lynn as he introduced himself to me, recommended not only the Paleo diet, but specifically the Dr. Terry Wahls’ protocol. He didn’t mention eggs, which she forbids along with dairy and grains, but that was the only difference. He recomended daily 3 cups of greens, 3 cups of cruciferous vegetables, and 3 cups of colored vegetables. I watched her videos and enjoyed the pictures where she shows that by “colored” she means vegetables and fruits that have the color all through, like carrots or blueberries, but not apples.

Anyway, Lizzie and I went to lunch today but didn’t get our food from McDonalds. Instead we went to Safeway and first went to the little tubs of cut fruit and veg. I got one of broccoli and cauliflower (cruciferous), and one of sliced bell beppers of all three colors. She got a few others including fruit. I went next to the salad bar and got a salad of a few differne kinds of greens, including spinach and lettuce, but sadly there was no kale. I also put in some olives and little pies of chiken and some avocado from the taco secion of the salad bar. Salad dressing was a bit difficult at sirst because I love ranch, but instead got a bit of viniagrette. It turns out I enjoy the flavors of the actual foods enough to not need to dress the slad, but it did give me some oils, although not necessarily omega 3s.

I couldn’t finish all of this even though I realized I had the appropriate amounts. I came back to the courthouse in time to sit through the remainder of my DV client’s divore trial (she was telephonic from out of state but knew I would be there for support for her). When I came back to my office I was actually hungr y, so I finished the salad while watching Terry Wahl explaining her protocol. I’m still listening to her on another video but it is review and I don’t need to pay as much attention.

I simply wanted to say that I feel happy that Ron is not going to fight me on my diet change, or at least last night and this morning this is what he said. He told me last night that he wants to do this becuase he’s bored and has nothing interesting in his daily life while I’m at work, but if it’s really possible to recover some of what he’s lost to MS, he’s willing to make that change.

Plus, his PCAs have been commenting about his weight gain, and this lifestyle change is likely to make a difference. I’m relieved to think he understands why even the steaks he’s been buying on sale and stocking the feezer are no longer okay for me to enjoy because they are not wild or grass-fed. Instead, I told him I’ll hold out for a bison or garibou ribeye, and he didn’t seem offended or worried.

It is actually a good feeling to know I can be creative with the veg I’m eating instead of being bored or debrived. I love knowing it is all right for me to eat real food and by eating these three categroies I’ll be likely to get the 31 nutrients my brain requires especially as an MS p[erson.

So there’s that!


Deleted user January 17, 2016

Way to go!!! I haven't seen any of Dr Wall's videos besides 'Minding your Mitochondria' and I keep going back tonight one and recommending it to others. So wonderful that Ron is on board.Can you get a meat share from a farmer with grass fed meat? That's what we do and it's so much cheaper.

Can you eat white potatoes?

Everything Good Rebecca Deleted user ⋅ January 18, 2016

No white potatoes as I recall, but colorful foods (3 c./day) include fruit and veg that is color all through, which would include yams, but not radishes. Not that radishes are bad, but that they are not part of the three cups/day of colorful food. There's also three cups/day of greens and three cups/day of cruciferous veg. I love the idea of food as medicine, which is where she adapted Paleo eating. Do watch her YouTube channel, seriously. I'm a bit disturbed over the idea of no eggs yet lots of organ meats--haven't gone there but Ron is all in right now on the veg and wild game meat or at least free-range like bison or buffalo. (There aren't local farmers as far as I know at the moment.)
We were just talking this evening about neither of us feels deprived of anything, and already do feel healthier aafter four days. I lost 5 pounds (finally tonight the scale had good news!) and he says his digestion is finally "normal". Oh, and his eczema seems to be gone overnight!
Dairy, grain, and egg-free is how Dr. Wahl advises but we do eat eggs.

crystal butterfly January 21, 2016

I really dislike watching videos. I think that is why I miss so much of the good information. But I need to start doing something.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.