teasing time in 2015

Revised: 01/14/2016 7:51 p.m.

  • Dec. 21, 2015, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:55pm

I should so be asleep. Like an hour ago, or more. But I’ve been staying up later and later these days. I’m sure that doesn’t bode well for my soon-to-be hectic season and having to suddenly wake up on schedule every single day.

Not that I’ll complain about that too much. I’m one of the luckiest people I know in terms of work-fun balance ratios.

It’s crazy actually. We’ve been talking about this recently. How we make very little money [hello not even taking my own paycheck year-round] and most of the people we know [family] make quadruple what we do. They never seem to have any money though. And they complain about it. They won’t do things because they “don’t have any money”. Yet the two of us are constantly travelling, eating out, shopping, and exploring the world. Call us penny pinchers, or just really good at money. I don’t know what it is, but we’ve obviously figured out a really excellent way to manage money. Yay us! Thank God for my mom spreading these habits too me! I’m basically set for life.

Just don’t ask me what the hell I’m going to do if she leaves me....

In other news: my uncle is coming for New Years, supposedly. My Christmas lights aren’t nearly as impressive as I’d like them to be. We’re missing color and light but don’t really have time to finish it. I’m surprised we were even able to get up as much as we did. Boo for this month being so busy and filled with constant activities.

I think we’re going to try to see if we can manage closing the office between now and New Years. I’m not sure how that’ll go but we’ll keep an eye on the answering machine in case of emergency. We’re going to try to whip up the tamales tomorrow. And I’ll probably try some different baking stuff. There’s a recipe for pineapple upside down cupcakes that I’ve had my eye on.

Mom already baked two lemon cakes and some cookies to give away. All that’s left is two little slices of cake that didn’t fit in the last box. Bonus for us is we’re getting rid of a ton of boxes we’ve collected and a ton of ingredients before they go bad. After Christmas we’ll get to go out and restock. haha.

I’m not sure if JR will stop by. He knows we’re going to be doing the cooking and sometimes, if he’s free, he likes to come by and bs for a while. He said maybe he’d bring his “brother-in-law” which I misunderstood as a joke about JC [since I’d previously made comment about jr being my brother] and then got confused. But it turns out he was talking about his girlfriend’s brother [who he’s also shown me pictures of].

That whole thing came up in topic today about him trying to hook me up with his friends. It was the perfect opportunity to ask him if he gave the same shit to JC as he does to me. I asked if he was talking to him about me specifically and he said he didn’t really do that. So I immediately latched on to the double standard and said how unfair it was. That if that guy didn’t have to hear about me all the time then I didn’t want to hear about him.

It’s funny because Mom had actually asked him if they’d said anything about me after the Chili’s dinner [did I mention that?] and he said no, which gave me the opening for the questions about whether he’d had to hear it too. JR said that it wasn’t his fault. That my mom talks about it and so he just has to feed into it. Like it’s some kind of obligation. =|

Then after the questioning from me he said that he had in fact told JC that I’d be good for him and he supposedly said that “maybe. and if it didn’t work out, we could at least be friends.” I’m not sure I actually believe that this conversation happened, but whatever. I’ll tease him about it for a while. He threatened to text JC and ask but then later said that he didn’t because I told him not to. hah.

And when another client walked in, he said something about bringing up the whole thing in front of other people. I told him to do whatever he wanted. So he threatened to put it on fb and I told him to go ahead because I wasn’t scared. heh. I know he won’t do it. :) He ended up showing me JC’s profile on there and some pictures/things he posts. Then he showed me a picture with two older ladies and he goes, “look! There’s Mom and Nana!” haha. Whatever dude. Go away. [so he shows the picture to my mom too. ugh…]

They gave me a lot of shit about my “bubble” too. I don’t remember exactly how it came up.
Oh! JR told my mom to have me give her a massage because her shoulder hurt [she fell last night. tripped over some bricks that have existed for years and she’s walked by in the pitch black. don’t even get me started....] She said something about how stuff grosses me out. And I tried to explain that I just don’t like scratching people’s backs. It has nothing to do with being grossed out! It just makes my fingers tingle!

So they went off on a thing about how I don’t like to be touched and/or touch other people. Mom asked JR to help her make a bubble for me and he said that he thought I already had a bubble. That he sees it all the time. And they went off on a whole little spiel about my not wanting to be near anyone. Whatever. It was pointless to keep trying to defend myself with those two. They just don’t get it.

JR even made a joke about how when I get a boyfriend he’s going to try to kiss me and I’m going to stick my hand out and ask for a high five instead. rolls eyes ugh. whatever. seriously. They’re so dumb!

Later I said that it wasn’t a problem because I could make an exception for the right person [I’d tried saying something along those lines in the moment but they were on a role and completely ignoring me at that point…].

I mean, I know I put up boundaries. I’m not crazy. But who doesn’t? You can’t tell me that everyone loves being touched by strangers! And I have intimacy issues, obviously, so no I do not want guys to stand that close to me or get all up in my space. I don’t like to send the wrong message and I certainly do not like to interpret the wrong message either!

Some day they’ll get it. Maybe.

Also, I found a moment to empasize that he’s supposed to be like my brother [but I did mistakenly use the words “you’re more than my friend” before I quickly caught it and added that he’s like my brother. ha]

I don’t know about those two. They’re going to drive me crazy. Like a pair of old lady grandmother’s trying to marry me off.

Oh and the bbq client stopped by and bs-ed with us for a while. Only leaving after JR got there despite having said like 4 times that he needed to go home because of a headache. He apparently didn’t want to leave that badly because he stood around and talked about food with us and Mom/kind of me ended up inviting him to Christmas Eve stuff with us. He said he didn’t have anything to do and we kept bringing up everything that we were going to do so it seemed kind of rude not to invite him. She gave him the address and her cell number, but now we’re not sure if we told him that it’s on the Eve and not the actual day! Heh. Fingers crossed that distinction was mentioned if he does actually decide to show up!

Now it’s so far beyond my bedtime that I’m going to regret this in the morning. Or…maybe not since I did get these words out and they won’t be on my mind for later. =)

rose.
12:25am


Last updated January 14, 2016


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.