As one door shuts, another one opens ...... in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 01/09/2016 4:51 p.m.

  • Jan. 8, 2016, 6:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My niece, (sister’s oldest daughter), Marina, has just produced a beautiful baby girl and called her Jessie Elizabeth Gertsen. The Jessie is after Mum and I couldn’t be more chuffed - just so pleased the name will be carried forward. Mum would have been delighted as well - even thought she hated the name with a passion :)

Proud newbie Mum and Dad.

Poor girl’s been waiting since Boxing Day.


And I sense trouble ahead ......

When I had got the new job at the University in February of last year, I had also planned, once I had settled into the job, to get back into counselling studies again if possible. It’s been a long time since I did the last lot of training and just after I finished it I split with Boyd so did nothing about using it. I wasn’t sure if I would need to start all over at the very beginning again so, as I’m part of a counselling forum and had attended several workshops over the years, at the next one I cornered my old tutor, Christine, who is now the manager of a counselling agency in town. She said she didn’t think I would have to go right back to the beginning again and in fact the agency she worked in had their own course which runs every two years (next intake January 2016) so she could send me details then I could just apply when the time came.

The details never materialised so at the next workshop I reminded her and she apologised and said she’d get onto it when she was next back at work. Again nothing happened and by this time the illness had struck in full force so I shelved the whole idea. However last month I was trying to think about how I could somehow fight this fatigue thing this year and wondered about trying to do some voluntary work. That made me think about the course so I went online to see if there was any info on it and discovered they’d sent out applications back in September. I thought I’d missed the boat. However I e-mailed Christine anyway and she of course was mortified that I’d slipped through the net so went and bust a gut to arrange an interview for this week as the course started this weekend.

I was absolutely sh****ng myself about it. How honest should I be? How much do I divulge about the drugs I’m on? And how do I expect to last out for a whole weekend at a time when I can’t get myself up and dressed at a normal time in the morning?

Anyway the interview was yesterday afternoon and, because the circumstances were a bit different and time so short, they let me know the result just afterwards. I’ve got a place! First training session is tomorrow, second one on Sunday, then the other 12 are on various weekends from now until June.

I thought I’d get a chance to recover on Monday but I’ve got to look after Lily while Nikki takes Lilah swimming. When I told her about the course and gave her the dates she said nothing. No encouragement, discussion, questions, nothing. And when I checked to see if she was taking Lilah swimming on Monday, (Lily was supposed to have a settling-in day at nursery that afternoon) she said she very definitely was. It was obvious there was no leeway with that.

So I’m going to have to dig up my Assertive Gene from somewhere deep inside and tell her I’m not going to be quite so ‘available’ in the next 6 months. She’s already miffed because she won’t be seeing me on a lot of Saturdays (I used to go out to Pitmedden on a Saturday) and while I’m fine about looking after Lily on a Monday I’m going to have to ask that it just be the morning because at the moment she comes back with Lilah just after lunchtime then it’s taken for granted that we spend the afternoon together and they generally leave around teatime. So basically it ends up being a full day.

And I just don’t think I’ll have enough energy for that.

Speaking of Lily, she started school nursery this week.

All dressed up ready to go in on her first day:

Apparently she bounded off shouting “Bye!” without a second glance backwards at Nikki who was then left to make a quick exit to the car to dry a pair of suddenly wet eyes!

We had some challenging behaviour from Lily over the Christmas and New Year holidays which Nikki realised appeared to have started around the time her playgroup stopped so we’re hoping that’s what the problem was and nursery will plug the gap.

Right, I should get myself off to bed to try and get a decent night’s sleep before this thing tomorrow. Every time I know I have to be up for something in the morning I hardly sleep a wink or I wake up at stupid o’clock and lie staring at the ceiling desperately willing myself to fall back asleep again. Which usually doesn’t work.

Send positive vibes this way. I need them.

EDIT
Haven’t got time to read any comments tonight - just wanted to say I had ABSOLUTELY NO SLEEP WHATSOEVER last night. Oh well that’s not strictly true - I had half an hour from quarter past 7 until the alarm went off at quarter to 8. Yeah that was fun. I hate my brain.

BUT!

Today was brilliant! I loved it. And I was only tired for part of the early afternoon (although I had a much-looked-forward-to nap when I got home).

Keep sending the positive vibes though cos if I don’t sleep tonight I will scream.


Last updated February 05, 2018


Kimber January 08, 2016

I'm sure you'll be fine. I've found that searching out new things to learn and skills to master helps keep me from completely giving into my fatigue and apathy. (I do most of mine from the sofa, LOL, but at least I'm doing something, you know?)

As for your daughter, you might have to deal with some attitude for a while if you're not as conveniently available, but don't let it get to you. The changeup is likely to enrich her life too, and the girls'.

Marg Kimber ⋅ January 12, 2016

I hope so - to all of that! :)

patrisha January 08, 2016

I also do the "I've got to be up and out at 8 AM Thing" by checking the clock all night and getting up at three AM!

Marg patrisha ⋅ January 12, 2016

It's so annoying isn't it? If you ever find out how to change it let me know! :)

blackpropaganda January 09, 2016

Positive vibes on the way!!! I hope it works out OK - and I have the same problem when having a time to get up - we listen to a lot of World Service

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ January 12, 2016

Thanks!

Deleted user January 09, 2016

I hope it all goes well with your studies.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2016

Thank you! :)

Lady of the Bann January 09, 2016

See how it goes. With Lily going to nursery, things will change.don't stress.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ January 12, 2016

You would think but unfortunately it doesn't look like it - she keeps scheduling stuff on days when she has no babysitter then asking me to step in - drives me mad!

NorthernSeeker January 09, 2016

I'm sending positive vibes your way...and you will do great in the course. At the very least you'll probably learn a lot to help you process the stresses you've been under. Tell Nikki what you can and can't do. It's very exciting that Lily has started nursery school.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 12, 2016

Thank you - your vibes worked well!

Ms Tai January 09, 2016

I've discovered that being mum does something very weird to our ability to say no to adult children...good luck with the course :) xx

Marg Ms Tai ⋅ January 12, 2016

I knew you'd understand! And thank you :) xx

MageB January 09, 2016

Sending, sending....
You will find a way to make it all work.

Marg MageB ⋅ January 12, 2016

Received loud and clear - thank you!

NorthernSeeker January 09, 2016

You will sleep tonight and the course will be good for you.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 12, 2016

Not on the Friday night unfortunately but slept ok on the Saturday night - then ended up much sleepier the whole day Sunday! :D

Deleted user January 10, 2016

I'm glad you enjoyed it...fab news, and I hope it continues to go well.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2016

Thanks! :)

edna million January 11, 2016

Oh, congratulations!!! That sounds perfect - you'll be doing something you love and just that may help generate new energy. And yeah, assertiveness with Nikki may be necessary. I don't know why kids - even adult kids - take their parents totally for granted and assume they have no life themselves. I know I had that tendency at her age. Parents exist to serve you!

I hope you were able to sleep well the next night. I do that too if I know I have to get up earlier than usual - it's like my brain freaks out. From what, I have no idea, but it is very annoying.

Marg edna million ⋅ January 12, 2016

Thank you - I'm really hoping that's what will happen! But yeah I definitely need to lay things on the line for her cos she's just not getting it.

I slept like a log the next night - but was then sleepier that day than on Saturday lol! I think missing a whole night's sleep is a far bigger deal with my energy level the way it is - last time this happened it took me 4 whole days to recover!

edna million January 11, 2016

Oh, meant to say on a way earlier entry, I'm so glad the book you did for your mom was such a hit. That was a wonderful idea, and I'm thinking I need to do something like that for my dad. Although his mind is fine, I do want to put together something about his early life especially since joining the navy at 15 and going overseas during WW2 was so unusual and interesting.

Marg edna million ⋅ January 12, 2016

It really really helped in so many ways and it's also just great to have that record there especially for the younger generation who maybe find it difficult to imagine them as young people with busy and interesting lives! I wish I'd got her to do it at a much earlier stage because much of what she said can't be verified now but at least she was able to give me the bones of what happened which I knew enough about to flesh out at bit.

Tick Tock Tick January 24, 2016

Positive vibes! Positive vibes! Coming your way, from now on EVERY day! Fully comprehend your feelings and the no sleeping the night before. Good luck with the Assertive Gene. Six months isn't forever. (Easy to sound all Tough Love from this side of the pond!!) Add another team member for your side!

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ January 26, 2016

Thank you! I will take your positive vibes and use every last one of them :) And you're right - that's what I was thinking - six months is a good period of time to try and keep going for - the whole weekends are tough going I have to admit but they haven't killed me yet!

Tick Tock Tick January 24, 2016

Very important to increase your water. Dehydration can cause serious problems. Anyone out there have ideas on how to help her get it down?A pretty glass? A slight flavor that you like? Even the carbonated but unsweetened water will have a good effect. I got used to drinking a lot of water when dieting and after having done that I almost crave it. Easier for me to drink it from a plastic bottle, despite my guilt over buying water that way.
Not uncommon in the U.S. for physicians to have NO training in nutrition either. Ridiculous!

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ January 26, 2016

I've found the flavoured water sometimes helps - I can drink that a little easier but it's still a major achievement if I manage to get through one half litre bottle a day! Our tap water is good to drink over here which is great in one way but tends to stop me buying water on the other hand as it's a waste of money (I just buy an initial bottle then refill from the tap every day) but maybe I should try to buy the flavoured stuff when I do my food shop because if it makes me drink more then it's worth the extra pennies!

Tick Tock Tick Marg ⋅ February 02, 2016

Good for you for trying new things. I believe there are some flavorings you can add to tap water, then the question is whether they're natural or have artificial sweetners (with which I've had bad experiences).

Marg Tick Tock Tick ⋅ February 09, 2016

Yes that's true - we have to be so careful in these days of constant awareness!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.