Setup Letdowns in 2015

Revised: 01/07/2016 2:39 p.m.

  • Sept. 30, 2015, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

September 30, 2015
8:46pm

You know, sometimes people have the best intentions with the worst results.

See, JR’s on this kick to get me hooked up with one of his friends. I know I’ve mentioned this before. He was trying to push me onto JC for a while there. And then his gf’s brother just the other day.
Well today, we’re sitting in the office and I see this guy walking by the window and sorta looking at all the signs. Like he was lost or something. He rounded the corner and then turned around and came back in through the door. I stepped up to the front desk, said hi, and asked how I could help him today. He kind of laughed and then asked me if JR happened to be there. I smiled and told him that he was around the corner.

I mean, how typical - some guy walking in there looking for him instead of one of us. ;)

So I walked back to the side desk and this guy walked to the back desk where JR was. There were greetings exchanged and other things I couldn’t quite hear. Then I hear, “oh hey, and this is Rose” and I had already turned around and started to walk over to him because he barely made any moves towards me. I figure it only polite to shake hands in situations like that? People don’t seem to have those manners anymore.

Anyway, JR was introducing my mom at the same time and making jokes about how he confuses the two of us [we have similar names] so he walked over and shook her hand as well. I didn’t really bother to say much more. He’d sorta turned around anyway and then pretty quickly ended up walking towards the front door. JR was like, ‘oh…you’re not going to…” and hesitated. Like he was trying to ask why he was leaving so quickly. Maybe he thought the guy was going to sit down and hang for a minute. But he seemed more interested in getting on his way.

After he left, I walked over to JR and he whispers, “so that was him. what’d you think” [or something like that] with a little wink-wink-nudge-nudge kinda thing. I glared at him and said, “yeah, we’re getting married tomorrow.”

It turned into a big joke but he immediately started saying that he had no idea that guy was going to show up and that it was completely unplanned. I told him how I’d seen him walking by the window and he said he’d mentioned going to the coffeeshop next door. Saying something about how his gf had him trained so he’d figured he’d be in the shop. But I laughed because I seriously saw him walking by and he did not come out from the coffeeshop. It definitely sounded like some kind of weird setup to me. Like, “hey buddy, stop by and meet this girl” but whatever. I’ll go ahead and believe him when he says it was completely coincidental.

The part where this situation went wrong is that that guy couldn’t seem to get out of there fast enough.
I really want to send JR a message telling him that I understand he’s just trying to be nice, and I’m grateful, but I don’t think his friends are going to be into a girl like me. And it hurts my feelings [even if he doesn’t think I have any] to be rejected by a total stranger. Because that’s what it feels like. I could see it in that guys’ eyes. He wasn’t in the least bit interested.

I hate not having control over these situations. I am single for a reason and it’s not because I just love being alone.

That was my afternoon. I’m going to try not to spend too much time thinking about it. It is what it is.

rose.
10:11pm


Last updated January 07, 2016


Medisinn January 08, 2016

Maybe you are single for a reason, but reasons change. You're a well-documented mystery, but from years of reading I feel confident in concluding that overall, as a person, you're cute. I can't base it off of looks or anything else, I just have an inkling. Some boy will agree and steal your heart one of these days, whether you want him to or not :P

+.:hidden-feelings:. Medisinn ⋅ January 08, 2016

Thank you for saying that about me! I'm pretty confident in the fact that I give off that impression via words/personality. hah. Not that I think I'm ugly. I am just really good at connecting, but not 1st impressions.
Those reasons haven't changed yet and I'm going to hold onto them for as long as I can. haha. I'd like to wish that guy a lot of luck!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.