Ending the Year in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Dec. 30, 2015, 3:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night, as should be expected, was rough. Could NOT sleep. Because my medication is very important to me. Sort of lost patience waiting and went to Wal Greens… luckily, they were able to get me a new Rx no harm/no foul (meaning, it won’t fuck with my insurance… I was in my “acceptable re-fill” window of time). Got my oil changed… took almost 2 hours, so I had a bit of breakfast and took my pill with it. After the oil change, I decided to go back to the apartment instead of straight to work… I was feeling… well… not 100%. Crashed hard as soon as I climbed into bed. I was out like a light for the next 4 hours! Good. I needed sleep, but not so much sleep that I would have trouble dozing tonight. I need to get a good solid sleep before my interview!

When I woke up; I got a text from my brother… my pills from him should arrive tomorrow. SUPER glad I didn’t wait now!! Aaaand… Wife was in the kitchen cooking! She rarely cooks. Seriously, super rare. But she got a recipe from my mom about how to deal with left over turkey (seriously, it is an awesome recipe) and so Wife wanted to try it out. I thanked her, both for cooking and for doing dishes and… not surprisingly… she was weirded out by it. She needed to do the dishes to have any room in our tiny kitchen and she wanted to cook to get rid of the massive bag of leftover Turkey we had received from our various families over the Holiday. How very like her. She did that which she considered practical… so she is confused as to why I would show gratitude for that. lol. Whatever, I guess?

Went to work and… my replacement still had not shown up. it is 2 pm… he still had not arrived. Oh well, I suppose. I’m hoping he shows up at 4 because if he doesn’t show up until very late tonight (or worse, doesn’t show up at all)… he is just reaffirming my suspicion that he has no business being here. Which… that suspicion was certainly enhanced by my first moments in the Law Library today. (1) CO asked that we file paperwork correctly. My replacement hasn’t been giving it to “records” as is required.
(2) The “Mods Called” sheet hasn’t been changed in weeks. My replacement isn’t even properly keeping track of which Mods he’s called and which Mods still need to be called.
(3) The sign-in sheet for prisoners? Full. New one for prisoners to sign? Not present. He lacked the forethought to think that maybe he shouldn’t let the book get entirely full before providing a new one.
(4) He has completely abandoned the concept of “filing.” We have a thorough filing system and places especially designated for “difficult papers” that we may need help on. His paperwork was in neither of these locations. Instead… 300 papers were just stacked at the edge of the desk. No filing, no organization, nothing.

Part of me wonders if this is because I’m a shitty trainer. And then I think.... wait a minute… I had two weeks of observation and was then required to do all of this solo… my replacement had a MONTH of observation and two weeks of “assisted solo transition”… even if I am a shitty trainer; my replacement has seen it done correctly a lot more often than I did and got a lot more help than I did. The organizational elements aren’t complicated… it is shampoo level complicated: write, file, repeat. I mean… I know I didn’t expect much from this kid when he was asking the Inmates where he should go to get a grill installed (for his mouth) but I figured he would at least grasp the concept of filing! Then again… maybe I’m being too hard on the kid.

I suppose I’ll stay here a few hours; get a few Mods done; then head home. I really want to make sure I can get some laundry done and get a good meal and good night’s sleep before my long drive and important employment interview tomorrow. FINGERS CROSSED!

Oh… and for a rare treat… a picture of me… and yeah, I rarely post pics of me here so… enjoy!
alt text


patrisha December 30, 2015

Good luck for the interview!

stargazing December 30, 2015

Good luck tomorrow! Glad you were able to get your prescription!

Always Laughing January 01, 2016

I think your trainee is inept at his job not that you trained him poorly

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.