game of thrones season 4 in shazbot

  • Dec. 16, 2013, 2:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was looking up Sigur Ros on Wikipedia today (the world's most accurate website) since I haven't bought any of their albums since Takk.... and it seems to be that the band has been cast in the show A Game Of Thrones, season 4. I haven't actually seen the show, myself. I don't doubt it's a good program, or that I'd like it, possibly even love it, but I haven't read any of the books, yet. I'm still caught up in pulp fantasy, at the moment. Kiss The Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton is what I'm reading at the moment, and then I've got a Drizzt trilogy lined up. Then I plan to read The Shining and Doctor Sleep. And then, hopefully, I can start reading the books.

I've heard the story is quite violent, with major characters dying left and right. Hearing that has given me pause. I tend to get quite attached to even random characters, in novels. The good thing about Stephen King, in this regard, at least in The Dark Tower series, is that he prepares the reader ahead of time, emotionally, for what's to come. Me, I just kill em and try to pick up the pieces. At least, that's what I've done so far. Did I mention I hit a snag in my novel-in-progress?

It's more a question of fear, or a matter of fear, that if I write without knowing what's going on, I'll screw the whole thing up, I'll compromise the integrity of the whole novel. Now that I'm sober, I ought to be able to have an easier time finishing it. There's already a (thankfully relatively) small section in which I was attempting to initiate a war-phase between the mortals and the immortals, but I changed my mind and wrote up some excuse for why it didn't happen. I don't know. Anyway, it sounds bad even when I try to describe it, so I'll stop.

So if I can get over myself and just write and not think about it. If I can do that, I know I'll find my rhythm again. Just do it without thinking about it, or at least without worrying. Spending hours reading over what I've already written doesn't do much other than make me sweat a little bit.

I've been trying to find a job, lately. The other day, last week, I went to a temporary staffing agency and signed up with them. Took a few tests. Typing, 10-key, Word, Excel, etc. The lady I met with found a couple jobs that are coming up soon that fit with me. Luckily I kicked butt on the typing and 10-key tests. No errors, blazing speed.

This is a boring entry. Ah well. Take care.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.