Easy in Jessica and Me

  • Dec. 24, 2015, 1:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the exact text message exchange I had with my mother the other day. She didn’t know about me and Jess and I was technically waiting to tell my family while we were there for Christmas, but then this happened.

me: I’m bringing someone with me for Christmas, is that OK?
mom: of course! we only have one spare bed though. Is it a boyfriend?
me: it’s a girl, but we can share a room no problem
mom: she can always sleep on the couch
me: Its cool. We’re happy to share a bed. See you Thursday!

I thought that was the end of the conversation, but about 20 minutes later I got this:

mom: Turns out your sister isn’t going to be spending the night, so we’ll have another room for your friend

I didn’t want this to be how I came out to her, but I also didn’t want her to go through the trouble to set up another bed when she didn’t have to. I wrote back:

me: Thanks mom, but seriously we’re happy to share a bed
mom: whatever you want, just trying to make her more comfortable. What’s her name?
me: Jess. We’ve worked together for a while but have only recently been spending more time together
mom: Sounds serious. Serious enough that you’re spending Christmas together

I didn’t know how to respond. I think she was starting to get it, but I wasn’t really ready to just say it by text message. I didn’t respond for a while because I was thinking about it. Then she wrote:

mom: and you want to sleep together. Anything I should know?
me: I didn’t want to tell you this by text message, but yes. Jess and I are dating. I hope that’s OK. You’ll really like her.
mom: Whatever makes you happy. I’m looking forward to meeting her.

Was it that easy? I was expecting a little more friction. I guess we’ll find out later today.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.