Taking A Break From The Christmas Stressfest in Scottish Meanderings

  • Dec. 16, 2015, 6:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m a bit spooked. Bailey, Willow & Snarf are all lying sleeping on my bed. Nothing wrong with that scenario in the normal grand scheme of things except that it’s 5.30 p.m. My cats NEVER sleep in the afternoon past 3.45 p.m. - they reserve that time specially for either driving me insane by trying to bug me enough to feed them their tea or, if I’m not in, for panicking in case I’ve taken off somewhere and won’t be back until some dreadfully late hour - like say six o’clock or something by which time they will of course have keeled over from starvation.

What makes it even weirder is that they all pretty much refused their breakfast this morning so didn’t eat very much but they don’t seem unwell or anything. Normally I’m swearing like a trooper at this time of day because Snarf has jumped up on my desk for the hundredth time and knocked over my bottle of water and Willow has emptied the contents of my waste paper basket and licked every last library book cover cos he knows that drives me nuts. Bailey just does his special ‘meow’. It’s a noise no human can tolerate for more than 10 minutes and is, I have to say, very effective.

The holiday was fine. Considering the circumstances at the time, the situation with my health and the fact that I was expecting to get no sleep whatsoever it actually went pretty well but a week was definitely enough (Ian & Margaret were over there for 2 weeks). When I came back last week I was virtually in bed the whole of the next day and the rest of the week was difficult, mainly because I had done nothing about Christmas so had to get that show underway as quick as poss. However although I’ve still Christmas shopping to do yet, the decorations are now up and the the cards are written all ready for sending. Lily’s going to help me post them tomorrow.

I’ll do a proper holiday entry later because I’ve only just discovered the solution to a problem I’ve had for - oh 9 months now - re getting the photos on my phone to show up on my computer when both were connected. In despair I sat on the pc last night googling the problem determined to get the bottom of it before I went to bed. Finally someone came up with the answer.

Unlock the phone.

Simple when you know.

God technology drives me batty sometimes.

I want to try inserting a video on here just to see if I can do it without tearing my hair out. It seems a bit of a faff doing photos but I think that’s more to do with Photobucket than anything else and also that my computer is getting slower by the day. I’m scared to do a Windows upgrade (I’m still using VISTA) in case they whole thing blows up ...... apart from the fact I could find no easy way to do it when I tried the other night.

I’ve followed Simple Mind’s code for embedding the video and it seems to link to my Photobucket page okay - it won’t play properly on my pc but works on my phone. Can you let me know if you have any problems seeing it?



Lily Hand Fives Santa

And here are two special snowpeople, one of whom is VERY excited about seeing Santa this year.

I hope you are all surviving the madness that is Christmas so far and not being driven to drink. Or worse.


Last updated February 06, 2018


NorthernSeeker December 16, 2015

I'm sitting here laughing about your naughty kitties and their many wiles. I had a cat that would go under the sofa and pull on threads, breaking them one at a time. He did the same thing under our bed. It drove me nuts...very effective strategy for energizing a human.

Maybe the kitties know you are a little down and they're showing their solidarity with you. Maybe they are actually full...would anyone else have fed them?

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ December 18, 2015

Oh our Jamie used to do that with our old sofa in the last house - the threads were in tatters when we finally threw it out! I'm sure Willow would do it if I had one as well - he's very much into grabbing anything that moves and scratches my sofa to bits when I'm not looking!

Couldn't have been that because they hadn't moved from the bed the whole day. They're still picking at it and refusing to eat although Willow ate breakfast this morning - he's my benchmark - if HE refuses to eat you know there's something wrong! Makes me wonder if the cat food itself is a bit off - it's not like I can taste it and see ....... :)

NorthernSeeker Marg ⋅ December 18, 2015

Your Jamie was such a character....I loved the Jamie stories.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ December 19, 2015

I'd totally forgotten that I used to write about his ups and downs - you have a good memory! :)

NorthernSeeker December 16, 2015

Oh what lovely little snowgirls beside that tree. Kids are very good at getting one into the present.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ December 18, 2015

That's very true!

Ceylon Sapphire December 18, 2015

Ive taken the attitude that Christmas will happen whether Im stressed or not, so Ive taken the non stressed version of things. Your grand-daughters are lovely.

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ December 19, 2015

Well that's an excellent attitude to take and one I think I should adopt :) And thank you!

skyelord December 20, 2015

all done but for Christmas and boxing day dinner :-)

Marg skyelord ⋅ December 22, 2015

Very organised - I'm impressed!

Oswego December 25, 2015

Cats are such mysterious creatures! I hope you will have a happy Christmas and new year! Your comments are much appreciated. I wish I could write here and participate more often and maybe in 2016 I will. It's great to have this writing community after Open Diary folded.

Marg Oswego ⋅ December 30, 2015

Thank you! Just drop in by when you get a minute - you have a lot on your plate right now so don't beat yourself up for not writing - we'll all still be here when you do :)

MageB December 30, 2015

Hope you had a delightful Christmas and Boxing day. :)

Marg MageB ⋅ December 30, 2015

Thank you - I survived it all - just! :)

edna million January 12, 2016

How weird - someone was just saying they never saw my last entry show up in their bookmarks, and now I realize these entries didn't show up in my list!! What is going on?? I do see them in "all", so maybe I better start using that.

I'm glad the vacation was good - I'd hoped it was going okay! And hope the cats are feeling better too. Maybe it was the food?

Marg edna million ⋅ January 13, 2016

I have to say I have problems with the bookmarks as well - it only seems to work if I look at the 'All Bookmarks' list too rather than just go to the 'Next Bookmark' in that bit with 'Current Author' 'Current Book' etc. I keep thinking I'm not doing it properly so am glad to see I'm not the only one!

The cats are now on a dried 'Senior' food and seem to be liking it -ish. What I'm finding now is that they don't seem to be satisfied for long on it - when they had the wet stuff they would lounge around for a good few hours before getting up again but now as soon as I move they're all "Oh is it food time again - YAY!" and do that annoying circling-around-your-feet-tripping-you-up dance.

edna million Marg ⋅ January 13, 2016

I am JUST now figuring out that the tab that bookmarks goes to by default has a few people over and over, and everyone else seems to be in "all"! Maybe I'll quit missing people now.

Eddie acts like I'm supposed to feed him whenever I am standing/walking/moving at all. Even when the bowl is full of the only thing he really loves (Fancy Feast). I bought them some expensive healthy food from the pet store not long ago, and found out that since they are 8 years old, they should be eating Senior food. I was so shocked--- they aren't SENIORS!!! They're just babies!!

Marg edna million ⋅ January 14, 2016

I did the exact same thing. Nikki and I were standing in ASDA looking at all the dried food and she said "shouldn't they be eating Senior stuff by now?" and I was all "WHAAAAT? But they're only ........... 13?? How did that happen?"

edna million January 12, 2016

And I can see the video on your Photobucket page- those are the cutest boots ever! The girls are both adorable.

Marg edna million ⋅ January 13, 2016

She LOVES those boots - wears them everywhere!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.