Houses in Lyrics

  • Dec. 13, 2015, 1:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wrote this sometime during or right after high school. It seems more applicable lately than it was at the time.

All alone
Closed the windows
Locked the doors
This emptiness
Is mine alone

There are those
I used to know
They changed the locks
Changed their minds
And their homes

We used to know
All the roads
It wasn’t a challenge
To cross the way
To get back home

I left my house
Can’t find me anymore
They’re in their houses
Don’t know them anymore

Things are frozen
In ice
In time
We don’t warm up
We don’t leave home

I don’t know
Anyone anymore
I don’t step outside
Step outside my mind
Step outside my lonely home

I’m in my house
Don’t know me anymore
We left our towns
Can’t find us anymore

I left my house
Can’t find me anymore;
Can’t find me anymore
I left my house
Still in their houses
Don’t know them anymore;
Don’t know them anymore


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.