Lyft Me Up in 2015

  • Dec. 11, 2015, 4:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a long day. Well, now it’s Friday. Today will also be quite long.

I slept in and bummed around, since I’m so used to staying up at this point. If I can’t sleep because of anxiety, I may as well have fun playing games online and keeping in touch with friends. I meant to go to the Lyft office at 830, but ended up there around 1015. There wasn’t any sort of line, so my inspection happened immediately after I signed up. I passed everything, so I’m good to go! It’s a great feeling. They give you a phone mount, a tiny first aid kit, and…a tiny fire extinguisher. I’ve never seen one of these, so to me it’s comical.

Like, what am I supposed to do with that? If my car catches on fire, I’m outta there. I’m Donezel Washington. Doneion Rings. I’m not going to try to put out any sort of serious fire with a glorified can of air. Don’t cars explode after being on fire for a bit? I’m completely going off of my knowledge of movies here and nothing else. At least it was free.

That was pretty quick, so I had time to go to WinCo and relax a bit at home before heading to work. Afterward, I drove to Wilsonville, which is about 45 minutes away from work. My childhood best friend was visiting, tagging along with another friend from his church. That still seems so odd. He’s fully embraced the religious lifestyle, complete with celibacy. Quite a change from the person that I knew before who boasted about his seemingly exaggerated sexual claims. He seems happier. I wouldn’t be able to follow something that seriously. I’m too much of a free spirit. I got home around midnight, and of course I haven’t gone to bed, I’m not tired now.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention my personal experience with the flooding going on in parts of Portland. After I grabbed Matt, we drove around looking for a place to eat. I took a wrong turn and ended up on the freeway, so I took the next turn and figured I would just go back toward the direction of town. I used my GPS to get me back to the Fred Meyer we had just left, and for some reason it took me through back roads. There were lots of dips that were filled with water, as well as a river nearby. Parts of the road had one lane covered in water. We eventually turned back the way we came and took the freeway back. There was another weird detour on the way back to where he was staying that took me through some strange access road, in/through some small concrete tunnel, and across a dirt road covered in water-filled potholes. On the way home afterward I had to be careful too, as several parts of the road dipped and were covered with several inches of water. Obviously it worked out, but I was definitely worried my tiny, powerless Aveo was going to get stuck in some sort of small body of water. What a weird week it’s been here.

Tomorrow we have our monthly meeting at work at 7. I’ll donate after that, and then work at some point. The other supervisor asked if I would switch shifts with her and close, so we’ll see. I plan on starting Lyft driving afterward, whenever I get out. A long day indeed, but I’m ready to make some money. Well, extra money.

Texting is going well with Gracie. I mean, that’s normal, I’m just so used to people flaking. Seems like she’ll actually show up Monday. I can already tell she’s not the type of person I usually go for, but maybe that could be good. Or maybe we’ll just hook up, or maybe nothing will happen. Such is life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.