Eating, writing and balling in blackpropaganda

  • Dec. 9, 2015, 6:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This evening we start the Christmas eating season - a meal with members and partners of a group who invest in shares - and SW.. is the only woman member.
Needless to say she holds her own with the men - and we have profited over the years by the decision that the group have made.
So we are off to an Italian bistro -I have chosen bruschetta and then steak - and no doubt will have a glass or two of red wine. We could be generating some noise by the end!!!

I have started writing Christmas cards - SW.. checks the list and writes the envelopes - and so I have the easy part. Always a decision who gets what card - and I can see why people are cutting back on sending cards since even second class stamps are dear. Still is is one way of keeping in touch with people we rarely see - and some collect my cards as mementoes. There is a charity delivery in our area, and so most of the local ones go in that - and we normally do deliveries in a couple of streets.

Also SW.. has a birthday over the Christmas period so I have to make sure which cards are only for her.

The walk went well yesterday - although we had to be very careful on forest paths with the wet leaves , especially on slopes - one slip and there could be a real injury. IT is always good to get thanks from the walkers which means they enjoyed themselves - and reckoned it was well organised!

Tomorrow we should pick up a montage of photos from our cruise from the man who has been putting them together - not sure where we are going to put it - but it sill be an excellent record of the trip

And today - I liked this one..
alt text


Domino December 09, 2015

Is it just me or has Quentin Blake moved into saucy postcards? ;o)

blackpropaganda Domino ⋅ December 09, 2015

These are American - but same kind of style

Deleted user December 09, 2015

Your Christmas cards are lovely, I remember seeing them in a previous entry,

colojojo December 14, 2015

charity delivery sounds pretty cool. People just volunteer to hand out cards or something? How does it work?

Postage definitely is expensive. I'm sending about 30-40 cards abroad and it's about a pound, if not a bit more, to do so for each one. My hubs told me as a sort of warning as he was weighing them out to send, but I told him I don't care. I want to do it. But i'm sure that enthusiasm will fade in time, and as the cost of postage goes up.

blackpropaganda colojojo ⋅ December 14, 2015

Volunteers organise the opportunity for people to leave in cards for less than half price and they organise people to deliver them locally

blackpropaganda colojojo ⋅ December 14, 2015

I think the £1 you spend is a relatively small amount to keep in touch - and is a bit like a present from you to them. - when you add the cost of my individual card to the postage in the UK it seems a lot - but many people welcome my cards

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.