Another interview in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Dec. 8, 2015, 7:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Had another interview today. I liked the community, I liked the firm, I liked the people… but I could see (visually) the precise moment where the interviewer decided that I was unqualified. He is absolutely correct, of course. I have no experience with Tax Law or Property Law outside of law school. But then… that’s the bloody catch 22, isn’t it?

On my drive home, I semi-jokingly considered selling my suits and law books and using the money to get back into acting. At least I was never unqualified for that job. I got a call from another firm that wants to set up an interview and then when I got home, I applied to yet another job.

Now to just… get through the inevitable and recurring wave of regrets and compunction that follow a failed interview. How many is that now? Probably around 10 or so I wager. Out of 52 applications. And the flood gates open on regret. ALL the mistakes academic and social from college to now. It certainly is rough. Though, at least, that recurring issue makes the long drive back to Omaha a bit more… interesting.

alt text
alt text
alt text


Rhapsody in Purple December 08, 2015

Maybe you could combine acting and lawyering and get a job on one of those tv shows about lawyers?
But hope the next interview goes well and that these job applications lead somewhere.

Fawkes Gal December 10, 2015

Just curious, why don't you want to get back into acting?

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ December 10, 2015

I would love to do acting in a Community Theater capacity; but as a profession there is very little appeal for me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.