Astray in Lyrics

  • Dec. 7, 2015, 4:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wrote this a few years ago, when I first was trying to get rid of my feelings. It was after being rejected by a girl and feeling dejected, existing alone as I seemed to be in perpetuity. It just seemed easier to close off everything and end the disappointment. I got close but all I did was dam the emotions up, and they flooded out when everything went wrong in September. I intend to make some sort of anti-love album or EP eventually, this was the first song I wrote of that ilk. Those days of playing Borderlands and listening to Dir En Grey’s Vulgar album, wondering what was wrong with me, struggling to keep up with work and school. How things don’t change enough, 2009 to 2015. What has changed most is that I have personal experience to relate to these once-hypothetical lyrics. I’m the one that has been left alone and astray, with only the anger left.

Love leads you up
And then away
Where do you go
When it leads astray?
Where can you go
But down
When they’ve taken it away?

Cross your heart
You’ll never let these feelings start
Cast this dependence away;
You’ll never find yourself astray

Trust builds a bridge
For you to cross
When it decays
Covered with moss
With disdain
It crumbles and you fall
Down
Don’t you now feel lost?

Cross your heart
You’ll never let these feelings start
Cast this dependence away;
You’ll never find yourself astray

And all the anger
And all the rage
Must not be allowed
To perpetrate
In the aftermath, the damage done
You, obliged to refund

Cross your heart
You’ll never let these feelings start
Cast this dependence away;
You’ll never find yourself astray

Love leads you up
And then away
Where do you go
When it leads astray?
Where can you go
But down
When they’ve taken it away?


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.