Burn in Lyrics

  • Dec. 4, 2015, 5:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just wrote this today. It had been a while since I’d written anything. I was listening to Everclear at the time.


You’d rather make an enemy
Than admit you need an ally
All of the pleasant memories
Obscured by a wall of enmity


Tears poured from both our eyes
Distraught to be apart and traumatized
Now pretending you never knew me
There was a time it ripped right through me


When the enablers have all gone home
You’re going to burn and burn alone
Too proud to keep yourself from dying lonely
Too proud to admit you ever loved me


Visions of the coast still fresh in my mind
Did ya think love like ours was easy to find?
You can tell our friends I was the one to blame
They cut me out and cursed my name
Still when the drinking and partying ends
Maybe you’ll remember who always made sure you got home again


For when the enablers have all gone home
You’re going to burn and burn alone
Too proud to keep yourself from dying lonely
Too proud to admit you ever loved me


You cheated on me
It was a drunken mistake
The hurt inlaid is something you poorly fake
An apology isn’t all it would take
It’s still a good start
Until then we exist
Cold, distant and apart


So when the enablers have all gone home
You’re going to burn and burn alone
Too proud to keep yourself from dying lonely
Too proud to admit you ever loved me


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.