Melatonin: Week 2 in 2015

  • Dec. 4, 2015, 4:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its incredible! Her going to sleep, is the easiest part of my day now. Where it used to be the most horrific part that I dreaded. Before, I would battle her until 9 or sometimes 10… and then thru the night. Now? By 8:01 I’m able to relax and do anything I need to or want to do. What a change.

During this week however, we experienced her waking at 11pm, and then around 3-4am. I talked to the dr and they said instead of 1 mg (which is normal for a 3-4 year old to take if they needed it) to bump her to 1.5-2mg. Shes going to be 7 and the recommended dose for 7-8 year olds is between 3-5mg. Also they told me to continue with the “tough love” even tho shes going to bed well. The middle of the night wakings need to be addressed kindly, but firmly.

So NO we will not cover her back up if she gets up, shes to do that on her own. And NO more drinks, she gets one last drink before bed and thats it. NO lights will be turned on. Nothing. We will tell her we love her and tell her to go back to bed, but thats it. If she causes a fuss, we take her iPad privileges away for the following day. If she continues, her door gets shut.

She did that for two nights until she realized we were serious. Now she sleeps the night. For now.


In other news, my back still kills me and my tailbone is sore and nothing is changing at all :(

Still in physio a couple times a week.

Kristen


Deleted user December 04, 2015

My daughter had a problem where she slept SO HARD during the night she was in night time pullups till she turned 6 (she just turned 7) and refused to wake up for school. I am glad the melatonin is working! Every parent needs their kid to have a good nights rest for everyone to be happy!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Deleted user ⋅ December 04, 2015

Exactly. And I've tried every type of bedtime hygiene and bedtime routine out there. This was the last ditch effort so I'm glad its working. My other daughter is the opposite and uses pull ups still too lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.