No Black Friday for me---it's pierogi making day! in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Nov. 27, 2015, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Used to get together with my mom, sister and SIL and make pierogies. Sometimes on Black Friday or another time the kids had off during the winter. Well, mom is no longer with us, the kids are grown and have their own kids that go to school, well some of them, and so my son has decided to start a new tradition of pierogi making day. It was just his family and my sister but that was ok. We made over 200 cheese and potato pierogi. One year I brought a friend and she made a sweet potato one. It was quite tasty but I am a purist and the only acceptable pierogi are cheese/potato, cabbage, sauerkraut and maybe cottage cheese with blueberries. I only like the potato/cheese ones and cabbage but we just did potato/cheese. Also growing up we had to eat them cooked first and then the next day, mom would fry them. Melted butter was a must and for the fried ones, sometimes we put sour cream on them. That is how mom grew up with them and I am following in her footsteps. It takes us about 4 hours to make about 200, my grandmother used to make them EVERY WEEK for her family of nine and not one of her children helped her! My mother used to always remark about that and how now that she was older, she felt bad and couldn’t believe that her mom did that every week. But, they were poor and it was a cheap, filling meal for hungry mouths. No matter what, they were tasty then and they are tasty now.


woman in the moon November 27, 2015

I've heard of them but I have to look them up. They sound good though. I'm glad your family is keeping the tradition going.

QueenSuzu woman in the moon ⋅ November 27, 2015

They are an Eastern European dish and very popular in NE PA as a lot of Ukrainian, Polish, Hungarian, Slavic people settled in the area.

QueenSuzu woman in the moon ⋅ November 27, 2015

You can buy frozen commercial ones like Mrs t's---bleh! But sometimes the churches make and sell them for fund raisers.

ConnieK November 27, 2015

grabs her napkin and heads for Suzu's house

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ November 27, 2015

A 🍽 is waiting for you!

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ November 27, 2015

:)

🌻StillJustMe🌸 November 29, 2015

I've never heard of them before...

QueenSuzu 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ November 30, 2015

They are an Eastern European dish, Ukrainian, Polish---quite a few settled in NE PA.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.