More Politics in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Nov. 26, 2015, 9 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a relative who is a minority and is currently living in Chicago. For those who have not heard; Chicago is in a bit of an upheaval over a police shooting. In this instance, the police ARE being charged with murder. As I don’t have all of the facts, I’m not going to instantly jump into the politics of the issue (as have so many Americans before me).

What I will say is how frustrated I am with the response. My cousin… a female half-Mexican… posted this today: “Give Thanks? FUCK YOU!” because of her outrage about the Chicago incident. SMH. Seriously? You can’t even pause a moment to address the ways you should give thanks?

I’m not even talking about “Give thanks for family and friends”… I’m talking about the stuff that the government you now so vehemently revile have given you.

Did you voice your opinion on the police brutality issue? Yes. Did you get arrested for it? No. Then be thankful you are not in Russia or China.

Are you a female? Yes. Are you allowed to speak up and have a say in political debates? Yes. Then be thankful you are not in countries that have given in to Boko Haram. Further… if you are a female who has an education, be thankful that you are not in countries that have banned their women from getting an education!

Are you an ethnic minority? Yes. Then be thankful you aren’t being hunted and killed like the Ethnic Kurds dealt with for a decade.

Does America have problems? SHIT YEAH. Are there genuine ethnic/racial issues we need to deal with? OF COURSE. Do I have a lot of faith that things will get fixed in this country/world? Honestly… not really.

But… if your response to the call to Give Thanks is FUCK YOU… there is a lot you’re missing.

Completely different situation but
Hell… I spent my “Thanksgiving Dinner” time filling out another 6 work applications. I’m not thankful for my struggles and my issues. But I still took time out of my day today to reflect on all that I am thankful for. I’m not homeless. I have a family who loves me. I have friends I can call if I’m feeling particularly depressed. I have Prosebox and internet connection. I’m not in prison. Despite what revisionists and SJWs want to say… Thanksgiving is not (or should not) be about celebrating White People taking shit from Natives. Maybe it started that way but what it is now is in our control… and what it is now, to my family anyway, is a necessary pause in all of the bullshit. A breath. A moment to stop trying so hard to get somewhere or be somebody or do something. Instead of working harder and harder never appreciating what you have… today is a day to stop. Reflect. Be thankful for what you have, be thankful for the opportunities you’ve been given… be thankful that, even in the dark times, it could always be worse.


Deleted user November 26, 2015

Honestly she's female and Mexican not a black male so all her outrageous really just

Deleted user November 26, 2015

...pointless and selfish

Always Laughing November 26, 2015

wow over reaction on her part

Rhapsody in Purple November 27, 2015

But she's allowed to be angry too. Maybe thanks giving means something different to her. And sometimes it's possible just to be too angry to take that moment.
Happy Thanksgiving to you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.