Still managing... in blackpropaganda

  • Nov. 24, 2015, 4:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

to keep it up (as the bishop said to the actress) - of course I mean writing or putting something up (hmm) every day.
Went to the cinema yesterday evening. We do not go very much because the soundtrack noise can be totally over the top - and in the small multiplex cinemas that can be oppressive - do I really want sound coming all a round me? Call me old fashioned but I can do without being shouted at and blasted out of my seat.

Luckily not likely with the gentle film The Lady in the Van - written by Alan Bennett - and lovingly directed by Nicholas Hytner - great performances from Alex Jennings, as Bennett, and Maggie Smith, outstanding as the difficult lady in the van in his drive. Wonderful acting. And no car chases, explosions, and simulating sex. Although the lovely procession of rather rough trade young men exiting Bennett’s house in the morning past the van was fun. Quintessentially British, or do I mean English.

By the way I read on FB that a son was in a ‘British restaurant’ - what is that all about?

It is still raining in bursts - and no doubt we will get soaked this afternoon when walking at the coast - I cannot wait for the sun to turn round and go back to the equator!!

Anyway - as per norm a little amusement.

alt text

and

alt text


Lady of the Bann November 24, 2015

I went to see Lady in a van last week and my enjoyment was continually ruined by seeing the similarities to my Mother. I want to see Brooklyn this week and the new Hunger games. Surprisingly I have watched and enjoyed all the previous ones.

blackpropaganda Lady of the Bann ⋅ November 24, 2015

Ah yes, I can understand your reaction to 'the Lady', especially the crippling effect of religion. By the way the JW came while I was home this morning - I have a Watchtower to read now!

Lady of the Bann blackpropaganda ⋅ November 24, 2015

Enjoy! 😀

blackpropaganda Lady of the Bann ⋅ November 24, 2015

I wondered if you had read The Children Act by Ian McEwan - very interesting novel an older woman, love and JW's view on blood transfusion - it might be too close to what you know

WanderingWarrior November 25, 2015

I hardly ever go to the movies anymore.

The second one had me laugh out loud!

January Child November 27, 2015

I would never be able to commit to writing every day. Not these days... but yes, it is about making time. I'm not trying to say "I'm too busy" because I hate when people say that. We make time for the things we want to do, busy-ness or not!

blackpropaganda January Child ⋅ November 27, 2015

I am retired and have more time but not always enough privacy hence the odd entry with a joke

colojojo November 29, 2015

We've noticed the volume has been pumped a little high at our local theater as well. The last couple movies, or perhaps that particular viewing room.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.