Controversy in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Nov. 24, 2015, 5:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A relative of mine that has minimal education; works construction and had two children before the age of twenty posted something that I hear from people of all ages and abilities. His background, however, makes me truly shake my head at how he can believe this so strongly (and he does).

alt text

No jobs in the country, with the possible exception of babysitting, were designed “for teenagers and/or college kids.” The ignorance of that statement is devastating. If any full time job was designed “for kids to have spending money” then why do Fast Food places have full time positions? Why have benefits like health care and sick leave? This is just one argument.

Here’s another. Have you seen the economy lately? Like… at all in the past 4 years? NPR even did a report on how so many teenagers couldn’t find work because all of the people that lost their jobs in the Global recession had to scrounge and scurry to find any work that they could… and find it quickly… because mortgages, bills, and raising kids takes money on an immediate and repetitious basis.

Plus… seriously? We’re discussing skills and education here? Okay… what about me? I have an abundance of skills. I have an extraneous amount of education. I have, in the last month, genuinely considered working for one of these establishments to help make ends meet while also extricating myself from a dangerous situation.

In short… I understand if you oppose a wage increase. I disagree but I’ll understand. However… please… if this is your argument? I can no longer respect that decision. Everything points against that as being a logical or coherent argument. And so yes… it frustrates me that people still use that argument.

(BTW… if you don’t want stupid people who contribute little to the world to have money… look at Congress.)


stargazing November 24, 2015

It hurts me that people can work a full time job and not be able to make ends meet. No idea where the idea that minimum wage jobs were only for teens came from. That's crazy! You make a very good point about full time hours and benefits.

DefyingRules November 24, 2015

I'm a college graduate (granted, without the most useful degree in the world) working full time at a job I choose to do, and at 35, in a management retail job, I still cannot afford to live outside my parents home and afford bills and food. I work my ass off and am physically and mentally destroying my body and don't have the ability to support myself unless I get government assistance... I wish I knew how that makes any sense.

Park Row Fallout DefyingRules ⋅ November 24, 2015

Entirely agree! This myth that people "make what they earn" has become pervasive and entirely inaccurate. The disconnect, however, that so many people believe that there isn't an issue here is overwhelming.
I often wonder... is this the proverbial "rock bottom" that will force change... or is there still further to go before we hit bedrock?

Foofah November 24, 2015

I have two people on my friends list on Facebook who say almost exactly the same thing being said here. Sad thing is, I know for a fact that these two different people are relying on state assistance to pay their bills and feed their families.

Always Laughing November 27, 2015

I think a wage increase is acceptable. I work two jobs and make above minimum wage and still struggle to make ends meet. I will say if they raise it to 15 I will quit my job which I make slightly over 12 and requires a BA and work at McDonalds because they would then make more than me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.