RIP Jessie Anna Ross Skinner in Scottish Meanderings

  • Nov. 22, 2015, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well apparently it did mean she was near the end.

But after the awful couple of months she’d had what a very peaceful end it was.

Thank you all for your kind notes from my last entry.

Incredibly she lasted six days without food or drink. She had been eating and drinking less and less and on the Wednesday before last, ate her last meal of some scrambled egg - thereafter she would only take some water but by the Sunday even that was too difficult and we knew it was just a matter of time.

The whole family arrived at various stages to say their goodbyes although she was only semi conscious - however we were assured she would be aware of the general conversation and that we were all there.

I returned reluctantly on Sunday night to sort out the cats and rearrange some appointments I’d made for that week then on Tuesday teatime Lorna texted to say the hospice had phoned her to say Mam’s breathing and colour had changed so there wasn’t long left. Lorna had been up at the hospice the whole day as she had virtually every single other day and she chose not to go back up as Mam was pretty much unconscious by then, being on very strong painkillers and sedated quite a bit. Although I totally respected her decision it didn’t sit right with me and I just couldn’t settle so, realising there was little chance of getting there in time, I flung some stuff in a bag, texted Nikki to feed the cats and raced off in the car. (I was about 3.5 hours away).

Unbeknown to me, my oldest brother, Ian, and his wife Margaret were doing exactly the same thing and we all arrived at the hospice at exactly the same time! In the car on the way up I was pleading with Dad not to take her until I got there, knowing I had no right to ask such a thing and knowing we’ve all got our own time to go. Having to stop for the toilet or getting stuck behind a slow moving lorry was purgatory because you knew that a few minutes could make such a difference but there had been no texts en route so I presumed she was still with us and indeed she was.

Her breathing was laboured and fairly noisy but she looked peaceful and we settled down to wait. Ian & Margaret went to make a cup of tea and I quickly texted Nikki to let her know I’d got there okay. In the middle of doing that it suddenly went quiet. I looked at Mam and could see she was still taking breaths but there were now gaps in between and the movement from the sheet on the bed was imperceptible. I whispered “Oh Mam please wait until Ian gets back” then felt terrible I’d said it and immediately followed with “No don’t - if it’s time just slip away”. Luckily Margaret came into the room just at that minute so she rushed to get Ian who went to get a nurse. At which point we realised I could have used the buzzer sitting beside Mam’s bed! Your brain does daft things when you’re panicking ......

The nurse told us this was quite normal and not to worry but just to buzz if there was any other change and off she went. We relaxed. Ian decided to go and phone his daughter to let her know they’d got there. I stroked Mam’s head and Margaret & I chatted quietly, both glancing at Mam in between and literally seconds later we realised she hadn’t taken another breath. We kept on watching, desperately willing the sheet to rise again but no - that was it. She’d gone.

Did she wait for us coming? I don’t know. What I do know is I can’t tell you how happy I was to have been there at the end - it was eating me up to think of her perhaps dying alone or with just a nurse from the hospice there. And it’s a very strange experience to feel elated and desperately sad at one and the same time!

I just wanted to give a snapshot of her life in this entry but have never done one with so many photos before so I hope it doesn’t take forever to load - apologies if so. I can’t tell because my computer is so old and worn out everything takes forever to load! And I’m cursing myself because yesterday I passed the best of the photos I had of her to Lorna who is going to try and make a folder to look at after the funeral. So I haven’t left myself with many to choose from.

Anyway here we go.

As a teenager, footloose and fancy free!

All kitted out for war work.

And then along came the only man she ever loved in her life.

Newly engaged and very much in love (I love how she’s trying to get the ring in the picture inadvertently!)

The wedding day. No fancy dresses in wartime!

Proud Mum showing off her first newborn.

They didn’t have much money but were deliriously happy together. With the boys on the beach.

The very top windows you see in this picture was their first home - a tiny flat above the shop my Dad worked in (now a restaurant) - then a bakery owned by his uncle (as in second photo). She was a great believer in fresh air for kids and had the boys out to the park every afternoon so had to heave the pram up God knows how many sets of stairs to the flat every day. No wonder she was thin then!

But woe betide anyone who said Mrs. Skinner had untidy children! Every trip to the park or town or anywhere was accompanied by a spare change of clothes just in case. Here she’s walking beside her sister who’s pushing Lorna in the pram (thankfully they were getting smaller by then) with the 2 boys kitted out in front.

Bridesmaid at her sister’s wedding (despite having 3 young children she made her dress and also her sister’s).

And then there were four. After two miscarriages in her thirties, they almost gave up and called their family complete - but they were desperate for another baby so persevered - and good job they did otherwise I wouldn’t be here! This was taken at my christening.

Even in her forties she didn’t slow down. Here she is interrupting hanging out the washing to play hopscotch with me as Dad digs the garden.

After 25 years together they were still as much in love as when they first met. Here they are celebrating their silver wedding anniversary.

But this is what I remember the most - family time. Sunday afternoons on the beach or climbing up a hill or going for a long walk always with friends or other family. Dad worked 6 days a week and went to church on Sunday mornings but he relished his family time.

(Pic not found)

And after Dad died suddenly at the far too early age of 54, she made good use of their shared hobby of bowling, realising it was giving her a new lease of life and enabling her to make new friends. She went on to be very successful at it, winning trophies, cups, medals, spoons and rosebowls. It virtually saved her life and helped to bring her out of her grief. She’s third on the right in this photo.

Which was just as well because little did she know she had another 40 years to survive without him. Not even a diagnosis of acute myeloid leukeamia just before her 75th birthday could finish her off - at the time we took her away for the weekend to celebrate and try to take her mind off it.

But she was lucky enough to be treated with tablets which had just been researched and which were successful in keeping her in remission. And allowed her to celebrate her 90th birthday 4 years ago. Still beautiful at 90.

Lorna was instrumental in allowing her to stay in her own flat up until September this year so that was pretty good going and it’s just a shame her last few weeks were so awful.

There was a time I believed in an afterlife without question. Now I’m not so sure but desperately hope there is and that wherever she is she’s with Dad. And I hope they can both peep in on Tuesday, the day of the funeral, because ALL her grandchildren and great grandchildren are able to come which is absolutely brilliant because the oldest is coming from New York and his brother is coming from Sri Lanka! Poor souls they were hit really hard with prices because of Thanksgiving - their tickets cost over 2000 dollars at the last count but it’s a measure of how much she was loved that they didn’t bat an eyelid. I have to say it’s a bit of a jolt to go on Facebook these days because a few of them have changed their profile pics to their favourite Granny photo but what a lovely gesture!

The day after I have to try and psyche myself up to pack a case for a week’s holiday in the Canary Islands with Ian & Margaret which I couldn’t feel less like doing. It was booked ages ago and we were going to cancel it but they decided Mam would want us to go. Which she would it’s true. I haven’t had a holiday for 7 years and after being ill this year she was really happy I was going. It’s just that I really don’t feel in holiday mode and I know Tuesday is going to be sooooooo hard to get through.

But hey - it’s nothing compared what she had to go through these last few weeks so maybe I should stop being such an ungrateful wretch and get on with it.

I’m going to miss her bucketloads.


Last updated March 28, 2018


blackpropaganda November 22, 2015

A wonderful tribute to a very special lady - a life well spent

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ November 23, 2015

Thank you - she was!

NorthernSeeker November 22, 2015

Beautifully written entry, Marg. I'm so sorry for your loss. You don't want to travel but you will probably feel good to have gone. It will be a good transition to getting back to regular life.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 23, 2015

It might be indeed - I didn't think of it like that - thank you!

~Katherine November 22, 2015

Such a beautiful tribute to your lovely mother. My heart goes out to you.

Marg ~Katherine ⋅ November 23, 2015

Thanks so much!

Ann1107 November 22, 2015

My sincere condolences on the loss of your mother. She was lovely and well loved.

Marg Ann1107 ⋅ November 23, 2015

Thanks so much - she was indeed!

Lady of the Bann November 22, 2015

You have lots of happy memories to look back on. You will miss her but you know it is best for her when she was struggling so. Take care and enjoy your holiday.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ November 23, 2015

You're exactly right - I'm so glad she's at peace now and yes there are loads of great memories which we'll definitely keep alive! Thank you!

skyelord November 22, 2015

wonderful entry Marg

Marg skyelord ⋅ November 23, 2015

Thanks Malcolm!

patrisha November 22, 2015

This is a lovely entry... such good memories.

Marg patrisha ⋅ November 23, 2015

They are Patrisha - thank you!

Kimber November 22, 2015

Oh gosh, this made me cry. Thank you for sharing, and condolences on your loss.

Marg Kimber ⋅ November 23, 2015

I'm so glad I've returned to the ex-OD community because this is exactly the sort of situation which comes into its own with you guys :) And thank you!

Charlotte, Light and Dark November 22, 2015

What a lovely woman...and a beautiful life ! This entry moved me deeply, as we are going through a similar thing with my Dad.

Peace and comfort to you and your family.

Marg Charlotte, Light and Dark ⋅ November 23, 2015

Thank you for the kind words and I'm so sorry you're in a similar situation - my thoughts are with you.

Wind Swept November 25, 2015

I am sure she waited for you to show up... It gave her comfort in her passing. Blessings to you and your family...I loved all the photos..

Marg Wind Swept ⋅ December 11, 2015

I really hope so ..... thanks for the kind words!

Ceylon Sapphire November 25, 2015

what a lovely tribute.....

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ December 11, 2015

Thank you :)

edna million December 03, 2015

I just skipped ahead to see if there was any change in your mom since I was reading a month behind (I didn't even see the title of this, weirdly)... I'm so sorry, but so glad she had a very peaceful passing and that you were all with her. It is definitely a relief when someone has gone through such an awful time at the end... but no matter how prepared you think you are, it's never easy.

I'm reading at work and getting all teary looking at the pictures, so I'm coming back later to give them a better look and read the other entries! I'm very very happy to see you making entries again and you've inspired me to do the same.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 11, 2015

Oh cool I'm so pleased - we'll urge each other on then! :D

edna million Marg ⋅ December 11, 2015

Yes we will! I find it very therapeutic, when I will actually keep up with it. So is my paper journal, which I've also neglected terribly.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 12, 2015

Me too - I was keeping it going right up until the summer or thereabouts but the effort got too much and now I just jot down a few notes at the end of the day in a notebook. That makes me sad - I'm going to fight to try and get that going again next year.

edna million December 04, 2015

I absolutely love all these pictures. She was beautiful, throughout her life- and I can't believe she's 90 in the last one! I'd have guessed 15 years younger, at least. I didn't realize your siblings were so much older - or at least they look a lot older in the christening photo. Or that your father died so young. At least I'd forgotten that he did - I think now you wrote about it on OD years ago. This was a wonderful tribute to her. I'm on the fence about an afterlife too, but I hope there is something - it would just be way too unfair if there's not.

And I really really hope you had/are still having a restful and rejuvenating holiday. I'm sure it was hard to go away so soon afterwards, but at the same time, a break might be perfect. Just to go somewhere different- and nice- and get away.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 11, 2015

Well when you think about all the stuff we DID write about on OD it's a wonder we remember half of it ourselves haha! Thanks though - she was 'bonny quine' as they say in these parts - and many folk say I'm like her so I hope I inherit the good looks in years to come!

I was the 'baby' - spoiled rotten as well :) It was because of the 2 miscarriages she had after Lorna so there's 7 years between her and I and 11 and 12 years between Ian & Michael and myself respectively. I actually don't remember the boys being at home at all apart from them coming back at weekends when they were at university which is kind of strange. I do remember Lorna though as she had to babysit me loads - she was like a second mum and a brilliant one - strange we're not so close now - she's changed a lot over the years and we just don't have so much in common now.

edna million Marg ⋅ December 11, 2015

It's a shame you and Lorna aren't as close, but that seems to happen pretty often. Mark was the long-gap baby too - he was actually a surprise, and probably not a very pleasant one since his mom was in her 40s and his brother and sister were in college, or nearly in college! Actually I could have been in a similar sibling situation - my mother had several miscarriages before I was born, and a stillborn baby before the miscarriages who would have been something like ten years older than me.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 12, 2015

Apparently Mum & Dad wanted more and if it hadn't been for the miscarriages they probably would have had them - Mum was around 38 when I was born though so I think they thought it was best to stop there. There might be a chance for Lorna & I to get a bit closer now as we're all going to make a concentrated effort to keep in touch - not that we didn't already but I suppose Mam was the glue which held us all together so it may need a bit more effort from us all to keep that going. Is Mark close to his brother and sister?

edna million Marg ⋅ December 13, 2015

I really wouldn't say he's close to them - it's more like they are aunts and uncles he's fond of than brothers and sisters. His sister passed away quite a few years ago, so it's just his brother now, and we don't see him a whole lot. But when we do, they get along very well. It's like a whole different generation, though, and M's oldest niece is only four years younger than I am. It's a really strange dynamic, actually. My brother is 2 years younger than I am so we have this whole childhood history, and it's completely different than M and his siblings.

Marg edna million ⋅ December 15, 2015

Yes that must be quite strange right enough!

Anaiss December 11, 2015

Hi Marg, thank you for your note on my diary. I'm always happy to make new friends here so I followed you over here to see if we might have anything in common. Sadly, we do. My dad passed away this week after not eating for almost a week. He had Alzheimers and his passing was a blessing. I don't have time right now to read your entries but would like to add you to my friends list so I can do so later. And my condolences on your loss.

Marg Anaiss ⋅ December 12, 2015

Oh I'm so sorry Liebe! I wish wholeheartedly that that wasn't the thing we had in common but I understand you being relieved that he is now at peace - it's the same with Mum. I was catching up with Maria's diary recently and often noticed your comments so would be very glad to have you as my friend :) I wrote in Open Diary for years but entries in Prosebox have been somewhat sporadic - however I'm hoping to improve that from now on! Thank you for your condolences.

pb reader December 30, 2015

Thanks for posting the pictures with your lovely tribute to your mother. Your mom and dad were of the same era as my parents, so they somehow seem familiar to me.

Marg pb reader ⋅ June 01, 2016

I'm so sorry I seemed to have somehow missed your note left here but I'm glad I've now seen it! (if that makes sense!). I hope the memories evoked were happy ones :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.