One year ago in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Nov. 7, 2015, 9:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It has been a year since I had the bilateral mastectomy and I am still in the reconstruction phase. I had fat grafting Thursday to fill in dips at the sides of my breasts. I was told that it would feel like I had done a hard work out for a week or two. Surprisingly I feel fine, no pain at all. I am a little stiff under my arms and it does hurt when I get up from a chair or bed, but once I am up I am ok. I could have had this surgery in the summer, but I had my knee issues to take care of. I am glad I didn’t have it then because I have to wear this girdle type binder and it is itching me like crazy so if it had it in the summer with the heat—shudder, shudder. I will be off of work all this coming week. I can’t lift or bend so I guess I won’t be doing any housework but I will find something to do.


Anaiss November 07, 2015

You've had quite a year. It sounds like you are nearing the end of the reconstruction process. So glad you're doing well! Not being able to clean house -- well, I love it when I'm forced to relieve myself of that never-ending responsibility but it also drives me crazy at the same time if the place is messy. I'm sure you'll get through it and find some enjoyable things to do that don't require you to exert yourself.

ConnieK November 07, 2015

God bless you, Suzu. You have faced down so much and with such courage (although I know the feelings inside were far more mixed) and here you are, going through reconstruction like a heavyweight boxer, pushing through and beating the thing. With class. Oh, and congrats on getting out of housework! :)

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ November 08, 2015

Yes, there was a method to my getting out of the housework, a little extreme but a gal's gotta do what a gal's gotta do😏😏

🌻StillJustMe🌸 November 07, 2015

It's hard to believe it's been a year already. You are a trooper. Do you like to do puzzles? There's crossword, jigsaw, or word searches. I've taken up the adult coloring books lately. Hope your pain doesn't get any worse than it is now.

QueenSuzu 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ November 08, 2015

I attribute my well being to be half Ukrainian cuz my mom always said we were tough because of that---ha ha. I could do a puzzle I am thinking tho that this will be a good time to go thru some drawers and clean them out.

QueenSuzu 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ November 08, 2015

I attribute my well being to be half Ukrainian cuz my mom always said we were tough because of that---ha ha. I could do a puzzle I am thinking tho that this will be a good time to go thru some drawers and clean them out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.