Read all about it... in The dating game

  • Nov. 3, 2015, 1:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t suppose it’s the dating game anymore. Joey and u have been together for almost six months now and it’s going really well. So well in fact that he’s asked me to move in with him!

Its funny, I’ve spent exactly half my life dating. I’ve spent exactly half my life trying to get someone to commit to more than a couple of drinks once in a blue moon, to have some kind of commitment to me and our relationship.

And now I have that. I have a guy who can’t wait to live with me, who wants us to have a future and a home together.

Things haven’t been easy, particularly with the house. It was jointly owned between him and his ex wife and she’s been dragging her feet and making things extremely difficult with the transferring of the house into just joey’s name. Lots of game playing, ‘lost’ documents meaning new copies need sending etc. She’s still turning up at the house whenever she fancies currently, whether he’s there or not, with no warning. The majority of the time he’s not there, he’s essentially been living with me at my parents house while we’re waiting for everything to be sorted.

It would be nice to have an end date. We spoke to the solicitor on Friday and they seem to think if the papers are signed in a timely fashion, it could be sorted as soon as the end of next week, which would be amazing.

We can’t make any definitive plans about moving in dates until we know the completion date. Fingers crossed it’s soon, it’s such an exciting time, it would just be so much sweeter not to have this hanging over us so we can just enjoy it.

All of joey’s family are so pleased for us, and mine too, obviously. But it transpires that actually they didn’t like his ex all that much, and his brother and sister in law went out of their way to avoid her. We were out at the weekend for a family birthday and his brother and sister in law invited us back to theirs to just watch x factor and for wine. It was such fun, just chilling and having a laugh with them, and I know joey really appreciated it.

I think it helps that we have such similar family backgrounds, we both have brothers and sisters, we’re both from close families that actually quite enjoy spending time with each other. We’re used to having the piss taken, and being competitive, and being able to laugh at ourselves, because if we don’t there’s always someone who will! It bodes well for the future I think, we have the same ideals and the same moral compass.

Exciting times! How things change in just a few short months.

Xx


I need tea. November 03, 2015

Xxxxx

Bumbly November 04, 2015

Oooh next week is nice and soon too :-) Exciting!

The Tranquil Loon November 04, 2015

oh Cool! I'm glad she didn't scare you off and he is ready for a good relationship. Have fun!

The Tranquil Loon November 28, 2015

almost there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.