Twenty-seven in NoJoMo 2015

Revised: 11/27/2015 2:35 a.m.

  • Nov. 27, 2015, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What places hold particular allure for you; where might you like to live?

Writing in the middle of the night, because I fell asleep during the Packers-Bears game, and am now wide awake.

(And also still uncomfortable from overeating today....)

This prompt is kind of related to yesterday’s; I think Detroit has a lot of potential. I think the same of many of the “rustbelt” cities – Baltimore, Cleveland, Kansas City, St. Louis, Boston, Philadelphia, Twin Cities, Milwaukee, Buffalo, some of the NYC boroughs outside Manhattan. (Aside: I still, and probably never will, understand why Cleveland and Milwaukee don’t have NHL teams. Not that I have the least bit of interest in hockey, but it seems like those would be two places that are natural hockey towns.)

Yes, that includes Brooklyn, even though I can’t grow a hipster beard or manbun. Hell, I’d even consider something in northern Jersey if the right job presented itself.

Almost universally, these places are known as being cold. When I was younger, that’d have bothered me more. I really don’t notice it as much anymore, though. I notice cold a lot less than I notice heat. Yes, this is directly-related to the MS, but.... My mother is very concerned about me being under-dressed in cold weather, still.

Still, hypothermia seems less likely than passing out because I can’t breathe in the heat. I’m also very much intrigued by cities that are good for living without a car. That I can’t drive anymore has a lot to do with that.

So, notables....

I find Southwest DC interesting for some reason. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southwest,_Washington,_D.C.

There’s also gentrification going on in Southeast. I’d still probably not want to live in Anacostia, but you never know.

I do like Arlington and Alexandria, Virginia. If I manage to score a DC gig before my wife finishes school, that’s probably where I’d look to live until she can come join me.

I mentioned NYC. Maybe I’ve got an idealized vision, but I know at least I could get around without a car.

I can get most places when I’m in Norfolk. When I’m at my mother’s, where I stay when I’m working, OTOH, I’m nearly a recluse. I can’t go anywhere. sigh Even when I’m home on the weekends, though, I don’t have a lot of energy to get around.

I think I might be settling down again, so I’m going to cut this off now.

I have to get up in a few hours to go get another flu shot. When I got the first one, it was the first day I got Tysabri. Something about immunosuppressants killing a vaccine’s effectiveness. Go figure.


Last updated November 27, 2015


unimportant November 27, 2015

I'm in agreement with you about preferring colder places. I once had a job interview near Minneapolis, and I loved it there (too bad I didn't get the job). I would never want to live in NYC, though.

^H unimportant ⋅ November 27, 2015

The heat/exertion symptoms are a real problem for me. http://ms.about.com/od/signssymptoms/a/heat_intoleranc.htm

I hope you had a good Thanksgiving, too. And I'm not sure I've ever had real stuffing. Seems like a recipe for salmonella. Or, to put it in the kids' lingo, "TEAM DRESSING!"

unimportant ^H ⋅ November 28, 2015

Oh, I didn't know about heat intolerance. That really sucks. I'm miserable in hot weather and I just sweat a lot; your stuff looks a hundred times worse. I can see why you want to move somewhere cold. I actually found out, when I was still in the running for the job in Minneapolis, that their summers are hotter than Cleveland's, even though the winters are colder.

And yes, stuffing can be a food poisoning hazard if you don't handle it properly, but as long as you cook it immediately and make sure it gets to 165 F, it's fine. My mom actually puts it back in the oven in a bowl after un-stuffing the bird just to be sure.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.